Home   |   Register               Web Search: by Google
channel navigation

News Home Page
News Digest
Area Pro Teams
High Schools
Winter All-Mets
- Basketball
- Ice Hockey
- Boys Swimming
- Girls Swimming
. Boys Track
- Girls Track
- Volleyball
- Wrestling
- All-Met History
Leagues and Sports
Inside Sports
Live Online
Weekly Sections
Print Edition
News Index

All-Met All-Mets
Front row, left to right: Shane Stroup (River Hill), Frank Francois (Lake Braddock), Alan Webb (South Lakes), Ron Richards (Hayfield), Andre Summers (Dunbar). Back row: Bobby Lockhart (Handley), Kyle Farmer (Oakland Mills), Jerod Void (Surrattsville), Vikas Gowda (Frederick), Mark Kupets (Centreville), Ronald Gill (Ballou), Coach Noel Cyrus (Ballou). Not pictured: Matt Maline (Oakton). (Jonathan Newton - The Washington Post)

First Team |  Player of the Year |  Coach of the Year   Honorable Mention

Player of the Year
Alan Webb, South Lakes, Sr.
Eight-time All-Met made track history when he became the first American high school runner in 34 years to run a sub-four-minute mile (3:59.86) in New York City in January. Broke the high school record in the 1,000 meters (2:23.68) at the Virginia AAA Championships in early March.

Coach of the Year
Noel Cyrus, Ballou
Longtime coach led Knights to fourth straight D.C. Interscholastic Athletic Association indoor title in easy victory over Wilson. Ballou has won seven of the past 10 DCIAA indoor championships. The KnightsÕ 4x400 relay team finished second at the Nike Indoor Classic. An All-Met Coach of the Year in 1992 and 1996.

First Team
Kyle Farmer, Oakland Mills, Sr.
Three-time All-Met led Scorpions to Maryland 2A/1A title with victories in 300 (33.90) and 55 (6.38). Florida-bound standout also finished third at New Balance National Scholastic Indoor Track and Field Championships in the 60 and 200.

Frank Francois, Lake Braddock, Sr.
Led Bruins to surprising boys Virginia AAA title with win in 500 (1:03.76). Also took second in the 300. Swept both events at Northern Region Championships.

Ronald Gill, Ballou, Sr.
Won 300 (37.76) and 500 (1:08.35) at DCIAA Championships and took second in the 55 before helping Ballou's sprint medley relay team to victory at Nike Indoor Classic.

Vikas Gowda, Frederick, Sr.
Six-foot-eight shot putter was first high schooler to clear 60 feet this season; he cruised to Maryland 4A/3A shot put title (57-9A). Took eighth at Nike Indoor Classic.

Mark Kupets, Centreville, Sr.
Battled teammate David Sullivan all year, winning Northern Region and Virginia AAA high jump titles after transferring from Langley. Cleared 14-10 at regionals for meet record and 15-3 at states.

Bobby Lockhart, Handley, Jr.
Four-time All-Met easily won Virginia AA mile and two-mile titles. Runner-up in the mile at Millrose Games and Nike Indoor Classic.

Matt Maline, Oakton, Sr.
Three-time All-Met won 3,200 meters (9:15.20) at Virginia AAA Championships and at Concorde District Championships. Was one of six qualifiers for World Junior Cross-Country Championship team.

Ron Richards, Hayfield, Sr.
Virginia AAA Northern Region champion in the 55 (6.48) and runner-up in 300 (36.15) and 500 (1:06.82). Placed eighth in 55 and 300 at states.

Shane Stroup, River Hill, Jr.
Single-handedly led Hawks to Maryland 3A/2A title, winning 500 (1:06.70), 800 (1:58.10) and 1,600 (4:21.50) and anchoring record-breaking 4x800 relay team. Took fifth in mile at Nike Indoor Classic.

Andre Summers, Dunbar, Sr.
Football wide receiver dominated the District short sprints all season, capping year with win in 55 (6.58) at DCIAA Championships.

Jerod Void, Surrattsville, Sr.
Followed Maryland 2A/1A 55 hurdles title with win in 60 hurdles at Nike Indoor Classic (7.86). Purdue-bound standout has not lost against local competition since freshman year.

Honorable Mention
Dan Antalics, O'Connell, Sr.; Pat Barnes, Urbana, Sr.; Ryan Blackwell, Howard, Sr.; Germain Bryant, Surrattsville, Sr.; Will Christian, Great Mills, Sr.; David Crotts, Fairfax, Jr.; Brian Dumm, Robinson, Sr.; Recardo Evans, Westlake, Sr.; Phil Gaeta, Oakton, Sr.; Jon Goldsmith, Glenelg, Sr.; Stephen Hayes, Churchill, Sr.; Ricardo Iracks, Ballou, Sr.; Jimmy Judge, Lake Braddock, Sr.; Lee Lambert, Westlake, Sr.; Derek Liggins, Gar-Field, Soph.; Jeremy Moore, Broadneck, Sr.; Sammy Sesay, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.; Stefan Pastor, Oakland Mills, Sr.; Teddy Presley, Oakton, Sr.; Tim Riley, Suitland, Jr.; James Small, McLean, Sr.; Richard Smith, South Lakes, Sr.; David Sullivan, Centreville, Jr.; Matt Waranius, Chesapeake, Sr.; Carlos Watson, High Point, Sr.

© Copyright 2001 The Washington Post Company

Back to the top