Front: Cory Watkinson (Bullis). Second row (left to right): Pasha Zand (Churchill), Ian Brooks (DeMatha). Third row: Jordan Burke (Bullis), Josh Cohen (Walter Johnson). Not pictured: Michael Haring (Gonzaga), Jeremy Schleibaum (Robinson), Emily Tiernan (Holton-Arms). (Toni L. Sandys - The Washington Post)

Player of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Second Team   Honorable Mention

Player of the Year

Josh Cohen, Walter Johnson, Sr.
Often the most skilled player on the ice, Cohen played both defense and forward this season, leading the Wildcats to their first MSHL public school championship. He had 22 goals and 17 assists in 13 regular season games. He was named to the MSHL all-star game for the second consecutive year.

Coach of the Year

Paul Tilch, Gonzaga
An All-Met defenseman for Gonzaga in 1997, Tilch took over his alma mater's team three years ago -- the year after it posted a four-win season. Under Tilch, Gonzaga's 11-year-old program has shown steady improvement, culminating in its first Maryland Scholastic Hockey League private school championship this season. The Eagles won the title game 4-1 over rival and defending champion DeMatha.

First Team

G Cory Watkinson, Bullis, Sr.
After leading the Bulldogs to an MSHL private school runner-up finish in 2004, Watkinson (.930 save percentage) made an eye-popping 43 stops in a 1-0 loss to eventual champion Gonzaga in the semifinals this season.

D Ian Brooks, DeMatha, Sr.
A swift skater with sharp stick-handling skills, Brooks's assignment each game was to shut down the opposing team's best forward -- which he often did for the MSHL private school runner-up Stags.

D Michael Haring, Gonzaga, Jr.
The repeat All-Met's smooth skating and stick-handling wowed spectators, surprised opponents and helped the Eagles capture their first MSHL private school title. He had eight goals and 10 assists.

F Jordan Burke, Bullis, Sr.
A repeat All-Met selection, Burke had 15 goals and 20 assists to help the Bulldogs come within a goal of reaching the MSHL private school final for the second consecutive year.

F Jeremy Schleibaum, Robinson, Sr.
Named the most valuable player in the Northern Virginia Scholastic Hockey League, Schleibaum's slick stick-handling helped him rack up 20 goals and 17 assists in 10 league games for the co-champion Rams.

F Emily Tiernan, Holton-Arms, Jr.
Another repeat All-Met selection, Tiernan had 15 goals and three assists in eight games while racking up only four penalty minutes for the undefeated MSHL girls' champion. Also skates for the Washington Pride, an elite club team.

F Pasha Zand, Churchill, Sr.
A superb skater with a knack for finding his way to the net, Zand had 18 goals and 17 assists for the MSHL public school runner-up Bulldogs (13-1).

Second Team
G Aaron Burke, North Stafford, Jr.
D Bill Day, Madison/Marshall, Jr.
D Adam Fishbein, Sherwood, Sr.
F Peter Black, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
F Robert Bushman, Forest Park, Sr.
F Shane Fendlay, DeMatha, Jr.
F Bobby Ferrari, Old Mill, Sr.
F Neal Vasilak, Blair, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Goaltenders: Michael Clemente, Gonzaga, Fr.; Andrew Cullen, Robinson, Fr.; Ned Dixon, DeMatha, Sr.; Robbie Kunka, Langley, Jr.; Jason Maggio, Georgetown Prep, Sr.; Brent Taylor, Paint Branch, Sr.

Defensemen: Sam Cooper, St. Stephen's/St. Agnes, Sr.; Brandon Fay, O'Connell, Sr.; Kyle Newton, Bullis, Sr.; Tim Schlagenhauf, Paul VI Catholic, Jr.; Arie Stock, Walter Johnson, Sr.; Brad Surdam, West Springfield, Jr.; Josh Williams, DeMatha, Sr.

Forwards: Ali Ashburn, Holton-Arms, Sr.; Steven Burke, Bullis, Fr.; Ryan Craig, Spalding, Jr.; Patrick Cullen, Gonzaga, Soph.; Joe Cullinan, DeMatha, Sr.; Jeff Czidziel, North Stafford, Sr.; Evan Donnelly, St. Stephen's/St. Agnes, Sr.; Ryan Dove, Hylton, Soph.; Michael Fransen, Paint Branch, Jr.; Brian Gibbons, DeMatha, Soph.; Keith Hall, Gonzaga, Jr.; Ryan Holley, Gonzaga, Soph.; Dan Masiulis, Howard, Sr.; Matt McVay, Robinson, Sr.; Ricky Norris, Paint Branch, Jr.; Michael Potolicchio, Landon, Jr.; Adam Roeder, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Jake Samperton, Landon, Sr.; Spenser Smallwood, Gonzaga, Sr.

© 2005 The Washington Post Company