Front row (left to right): Matt Taylor (Colonial Forge), Mike Rowe (DeMatha), Matt Myers (McDonough), Zach Tolbert (Magruder). Second row: Dirk Hurrin (St. Stephen's/St. Agnes), Andy Lowy (Sherwood), Eren Civan (Whitman), Cam Watkins (Magruder), Ryan Buff (Calvert), Michael Cannon (Chopticon). Third row: Sam O'Hair (T.C. Williams), Brent Jones (Robinson), John Bauman (Woodbridge), Phil Riley (Huntingtown), Eddie Baughan (Quince Orchard). Not pictured: Justin Wheaton (Potomac Falls). (Toni L. Sandys - The Washington Post)

Wrestler of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Second Team   Honorable Mention

Wrestler of the Year

135 Mike Rowe | DeMatha, Sr.
The four-time All-Met and two-time Wrestler of the Year finished his stellar career by becoming Maryland's all-time winningest wrestler with 221 career victories, one more than DeMatha's Wes Cummings had from 1996 to 1999. The University of Nebraska-bound Rowe, who won three Washington Catholic Athletic Conference titles, went 58-2 this winter to finish his career 221-8 with 160 pins.

Coach of the Year

Bill Swink | Colonial Forge
The sixth-year coach has turned the Eagles into one of Virginia's top programs. Colonial Forge has won four straight Virginia AAA Northwestern Region titles and has not lost to an area school in the past five seasons. Colonial Forge finished the season ranked No. 1 by The Post and in second place at the state tournament-its second straight top-three showing.

First Team

103 Andy Lowy | Sherwood, Soph.
Pinned three of his four opponents at the Maryland 4A/3A meet to become Sherwood's first 103-pound state champion. Records: 33-2 last season, 61-7 career.

112 Zach Tolbert | Magruder, Jr.
Won his first Maryland 4A/3A title after placing second at both the Montgomery County and 4A/3A West Region tournaments. Finished the season 37-3.

119 Matt Taylor | Colonial Forge, Sr.
The three-time Virginia AAA Northwestern Region champion finished the season 45-6 and did not lose to an area opponent. Jumped up to 125 pounds for the postseason, where he finished second.

125 Ryan Buff | Calvert, Jr.
Capped a 40-0 season by winning the Maryland 2A/1A title. Won his third consecutive Southern Maryland Athletic Conference and 2A/1A South Region titles. Has gone 112-3 in three seasons.

130 Matt Myers | McDonough, Sr.
Completed a 35-0 season to finish his career 130-11. Became the first SMAC wrestler to win the 130-pound 4A/3A title, his second state crown. Will wrestle for Clarion University.

135 Cam Watkins | Magruder, Sr.
The three-time All-Met went 40-0 as he swept the 4A/3A state, 4A/3A West Region and Montgomery County titles. Finished his career 188-16, including WCAC titles in 2001-02 and 2002-03 and an MIAA title last year.

140 Eren Civan | Whitman, Soph.
The two-time 4A/3A state champion went 38-0, winning the 4A/3A West Region and Montgomery County tournament titles. Has gone 73-0 in two seasons.

145 Michael Cannon | Chopticon, Sr.
Became the Southern Maryland Athletic Conference's first 145-pound state champion and finished the season 39-0. Won the SMAC and 4A/3A South Region titles, as well.

152 Justin Wheaton | Potomac Falls, Sr.
The Dulles District and Region II champion won his first Virginia AA title this season. Finished the season 45-3, with all three losses coming to out-of-state competition in overtime.

160 Dirk Hurrin | St. Stephen's/St. Agnes, Sr.
Placed third at the National Prep Championships to become a three-time National Prep all-American. The four-time Virginia Independent Schools and Interstate Athletic Conference champion finished the season 43-5.

171 Eddie Baughan | Quince Orchard, Sr.
Claimed the Maryland 4A/3A title to conclude a 38-0 season in which he recorded 28 pins. The three-time state qualifier went 109-36 with 67 pins in his career.

171 Sam O'Hair | T.C. Williams, Sr.
The two-time Northern Region champion finished the season 51-0 and won his first Virginia AAA title. Finished with a career record of 152-23. Will wrestle for Davidson.

189 John Bauman | Woodbridge, Sr.
The two-time Virginia AAA Northwestern Region champion was a runner-up at the state meet for the second straight season. Finished with a record of 40-2 and did not lose to an area opponent.

215 Brent Jones | Robinson, Sr.
Won his first Virginia AAA title to cap his season at 46-0. Holds the Virginia all-time pins mark of 125 and has a career record of 179-15. Will wrestle for Virginia.

Hvy. Phil Riley | Huntingtown, Sr.
Won the Maryland 4A/3A title after placing second at the 4A/3A South Region tournament and first at the SMAC meet. Went 31-2; has 115 career wins. Will play football for Hofstra.

Second Team
103   Greg Saumenig, Old Mill, Soph.
112   Nathaniel Barbee, Stonewall Jackson, Sr.
112   Matt Chustz, Manassas Park, Sr.
119   Andrew Mulry, South River, Sr.
125   Justin Bowser, Arundel, Jr.
130   Vince Taweel, Hammond, Soph.
135   Todd Smoot, Manassas Park, Jr.
140   Adam Fitterer, Fairfax, Jr.
145   Ryan Schalk, Westfield, Sr.
152   Vann Smith, Forest Park, Sr.
160   Eric Duvall, Damascus, Sr.
171   Jeremy Bussard, McLean, Sr.
189   John Holloway, Magruder, Sr.
215   Zak Adomanis, Bowie, Sr.
215   Matt Pellar, Colonial Forge, Sr.
Hvy.  Sha'n Wilson, Colonial Forge, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Jonathan Faringer, DeMatha, Jr.; Sean McCarty, Northwest, Fr.; Sergio Ortiz, Manassas Park, Soph.; David Yost, Fauquier, Fr.
Kevin Chapman, Fauquier, Soph.; Dane Orzechowski, La Plata, Soph.; Kyle Terrill, Forest Park, Jr.; Andrew Robinson, Whitman, Sr.
Ethan Cohen, Hammond, Sr.; David Heckmann, River Hill, Sr.; Mostafa Ibrahim, West Springfield, Jr.; Lou Ruland, St. Mary's-Annapolis, Jr.
Taylor Green, River Hill, Jr.; Steve Sargent, DeMatha, Soph.; Lam Le, Manassas Park, Jr.; David Sledz, Hylton, Jr.
Tyler Bowers, Gar-Field, Sr.; Ryan Lauer, River Hill, Sr.; Rudy Moures, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.; Jonahan Romero, Hayfield, Jr.
T.J. Baker, North Stafford, Sr.; Chad Cotterman, Walkersville, Sr.; Shane Fraser, Chesapeake, Sr.; Jeffers Frazier, Calvert, Sr.; Eddie McCarty, Northwest, Sr.
Lee Carsten, Robinson, Jr.; Dan Chichester, Hylton, Sr.; Luis Coronel, Oakton, Sr.; John Loss, Chopticon, Sr.
Erol Civan, Whitman, Sr.; Kenny Green, Fauquier, Sr.; Tim Miller, Linganore, Sr.; Kris Park, O'Connell, Sr.; Anthony Reck, Colonial Forge, Sr.
Zumarr Archer, Gar-Field, Jr.; T.J. Lefeged, Northwest, Sr.; Julian Valencia, West Springfield, Sr.; Chris Volker, Old Mill, Sr.
Josh Hayghe, Arundel, Sr.; Matt Jones, Robinson, Soph.; Mike Menefee, Northwest, Sr.; Steven Stotler, Gar-Field, Sr.
Joe Holland, Magruder, Sr.; Ivan Lagares, Woodbridge, Sr.; Eric Monday, Madison, Jr.; Brent Stewart, Paint Branch, Jr.
Zach Brown, Wilde Lake, Sr.; Calvin Cardillo, Hayfield, Jr.; Brad Pendock, Arundel, Sr.; Mike Waters, Centreville, Jr.
Mike Campbell, West Springfield, Sr.; Mingo Grant, Howard, Sr.; David Miles, Wilde Lake, Sr. Heavyweight
John Hickcox, Southern, Sr.; Eric Jobe, La Plata, Sr.; Mark Logan, Gar-Field, Sr.; Andrew Presnell, Middletown, Sr.; Jeremy Smith, Manassas Park, Sr.

© 2005 The Washington Post Company