Front Row (left to right): Shane Fendlay, DeMatha; Brad Surdam, West Springfield; Emily Tiernan, Holton-Arms. Second row: Pasha Zand, Churchill; Ryan Holley, Gonzaga; Bill Day, Marshall; Ryan Dove, Hylton. Not pictured: Jason Maggio, Georgetown Prep; Coach Mike Strycharz, Woodbridge. (Toni L. Sandys - The Washington Post)

Player of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Second Team   Honorable Mention

Player of the Year

F Brad Surdam, West Springfield, Sr.
Surdam was often the difference-maker for the Spartans. He finished the regular season tied for the Northern Virginia Scholastic Hockey League lead in goals with 30 and added 16 assists.

Coach of the Year

Mike Strycharz, Woodbridge
Strycharz guided the team from its first varsity action three seasons ago to its first playoff appearance and the NVSHL title. Woodbridge (12-1) topped favored Stone Bridge, 5-4, in the championship game, relying on its gritty style of play.

First Team

G Jason Maggio, Georgetown Prep, Sr.
Was strong in goal for the Little Hoyas all season, making impressive saves game after game. Maggio had a .931 save percentage and a 1.73 goals-against average this season.

D Bill Day, Marshall, Sr.
The key to stopping Day's Marshall/Madison team was stopping him. His speed, stick work and scoring ability made him a threat on offense, but his defense was equally tough.

D Ryan Holley, Gonzaga, Jr.
Known for providing stiff defense in the clutch, Holley also had 28 points this season. He scored two goals in the Maryland Scholastic Hockey League's private school championship game as the Eagles won their second consecutive title.

F Ryan Dove, Hylton, Jr.
Dove showcased undeniable offensive skill this season, breaking the NVSHL single-season points record with 49. He tied Surdam for the league lead in goals with 30. Plans to play at a prep school next year.

F Shane Fendlay, DeMatha, Sr.
The team captain and four-year varsity player won the MSHL's Yvon Labre Award for his excellence on and off the ice. His speed often shredded defenses. He had 44 points - 29 goals and 15 assists - this season.

F Emily Tiernan, Holton-Arms, Sr.
A three-time All-Met, Tiernan had 24 points in seven regular season games. She scored four goals and had two assists in Holton-Arms' 12-2 championship win over Bryn Mawr. Will play for Princeton.

F Pasha Zand, Churchill, Sr.
The two-time All-Met was known for weaving his way through defenses. Scored five goals in the MSHL semifinals and added a goal and two assists in the final as Churchill won its first public school title.

Second Team
G Maxie Weisz, Severna Park, Senior
D Andrew Panzarella, Gonzaga, Sophomore
D Tim Schlagenhauf, Paul VI Catholic, Senior
F Patrick Cullen, Gonzaga, Junior
F Jeff Donovan, O'Connell, Senior
F Luke Freeman, Severna Park, Senior
F Derrick Grimes, Thomas Johnson, Senior
F Chris Sams, DeMatha, Senior

Honorable Mention
Goaltenders: Michael Clemente, Gonzaga, Soph.; T.J. Cuneo, Woodbridge, Soph.; Tommy Fields, Chantilly, Jr.; Ryan Haughey, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Soph.; Matt Mitchell, Wootton, Jr.; Matt Myers, South River, Sr.

Defenders: Adam Barragan, Spalding, Sr.; Phil Borner, Hylton, Sr.; Adon DeGuzman, Churchill, Sr.; Tim Gleason, Woodbridge, Sr.; Chris Kolasch, Broad Run, Sr.; Chad Robins, Churchill, Sr.; Isaac Snyder, Walter Johnson, Sr.

Forwards: Andrew Ammon, Stone Bridge, Soph.; Greg Boxer, Churchill, Sr.; Ryan Craig, Spalding, Sr.; Sean Dinn, Gonzaga, Jr.; Stephen Gardner, Sherwood, Sr.; Cory Jensen, Severna Park, Soph.; Craig Kitto, Stone Bridge, Soph.; Adam Mitchell, South River, Soph.; Nick Petersen, Georgetown Prep, Sr.; Michael Potolicchio, Landon, Sr.; Scott Roof, Wootton, Sr.; Matt Tinordi, Severna Park, Soph.

Teams chosen by The Washington Post's Daniel Lyght

© 2006 The Washington Post Company