Boys' Swimming

Front Row (left to right): Matt Cooper, Whitman; Drew Finelli, Robinson; Michael McDonald, W.T. Woodson. Back row: Zach Holmes, Robinson; Jimmy McLaughlin, Herndon; Coach Geoff Schaefer, Whitman; Zach Hayden, Stonewall Jackson; Robert Grimmett-Norris, Georgetown Prep. Not pictured: Josh Hafkin, Georgetown Prep; Matt McLean, Potomac Falls; Adam Meyer, Whitman.(Toni L. Sandys - The Washington Post)

Swimmer of the Year   Coach of the Year
First Team   Second Team
Honorable Mention   Top Relay Teams

Swimmer of the Year

Josh Hafkin | Georgetown Prep, Jr.
The multi-talented and outgoing Hafkin helped the Little Hoyas win their third straight Metros crown with impressive automatic all-American performances in the 50-yard freestyle (meet-record 20.90 seconds) and in the 100 backstroke (meet-record 49.51). He also competed on the winning 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay teams.

Coach of the Year

Geoff Schaefer | Whitman
In his third year at the Bethesda school, Schaefer led the Vikings to the Montgomery County title. Whitman claimed six titles at the county championship and finished with 262 points, 17 better than second-place Blair. Whitman was the strongest Montgomery County public school team at Metros, placing fourth.

First Team

Matt Cooper | Whitman Jr.
Cooper dominated the diving competitions at the Montgomery County meet and Metros. His total of 528.10 points at Metros was more than 70 points better than the nearest competitor.

Drew Finelli | Robinson Sr.
Finelli, a repeat All-Met, led Robinson to its fourth consecutive Virginia AAA championship by defending his state 200-yard freestyle title with a state-record and automatic all-American time of 1:41.59. Will swim for Alabama.

Robert Grimmett-Norris | Georgetown Prep Jr.
In the first individual event at Metros, Grimmett-Norris swam away from the field in the 200 freestyle, finishing in 1:42.25, an automatic all-American time. He also finished second in the 500 freestyle, helping the Little Hoyas to their third straight Metros title.

Zach Hayden Stonewall | Jackson Sr.
A two-time All-Met, Hayden overcame a broken leg suffered before the season and won the Virginia AAA 100 freestyle title with an automatic all-American time of 46.49. Hayden was third at states in the 50 freestyle with a time of 21.38.

Zach Holmes | Robinson Jr.
Holmes helped Robinson claim the Virginia AAA team title by winning the 50 freestyle with an automatic all-American time of 21.28. He also swam on the Rams' victorious 200 and 400 freestyle relay teams.

Matt McLean | Potomac Falls Sr.
McLean won his second straight Virginia AA 200 freestyle title with an automatic all-American time of 1:40.37. Also won the state 500 freestyle title with an automatic all-American time of 4:36.00. Will swim for Auburn.

Adam Meyer | Whitman Sr.
Meyer earned an automatic all-American time in winning the 200 individual medley at Metros in 1:53.03. He won the same event at the Montgomery County championships and swam on the winning 200 medley and 200 relay teams. Will swim for the Naval Academy.

Michael McDonald | W.T. Woodson Sr.
McDonald, a repeat All-Met, won his second Virginia AAA one-meter diving championship with 519.15 points. He claimed his fourth Northern Region championship and set a Liberty District meet record of 543.60. Will dive for Miami.

Jimmy McLaughlin | Herndon Sr.
McLaughlin won the Virginia AAA 100 backstroke championship with an automatic all-American time of 51.63. He also swam on the Hornets' championship 200 medley relay, which finished with an automatic all-American time of 1:37.82.

Second Team
Chris Sams, DeMatha, Sr.
Alex Anderson, Madison, Sr.
Andy Brake, Lake Braddock, Jr.
Derek Bui, Robinson, So.
Brady Fox, Georgetown Prep, Fr.
Cameron Gledhill, McLean, Jr.
Josh Klotz, Whitman, Sr.
Simone Melillo, Thomas Johnson, Sr.
Brock Park, Landon, So.
Patrick Stevens, Centreville, Sr.
Zack Wise, Lee, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Drew Bollea, Lake Braddock, Sr.; A.J. Blood, Sidwell Friends, Sr.; Joshua Carden, Mount Vernon, Sr.; Alex Chen, DeMatha, Sr.; Jonathan Christensen, Jefferson, Soph.; Nevin Cook, Seton (Va.), Soph.; Bryan Durazo, Heritage, Sr.; Mike Gray, Northern, Sr.; David Hahn, Maret, Sr.; Briggy Imbriglia, Bishop Ireton, Soph.; David Kiss, Edison, Fr.; Josh Kinas, Herndon, Jr.; Joe Knecht, Walter Johnson, Jr.; Kevin Koehr, Seton (Va.), Sr.; Ryan Langley, Herndon, Jr.; Joe Lau, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.; Chris Lee, Jefferson, Fr.; Nick Lloyd, Stafford, Sr.; Matt Marquart, Battlefield, Sr.; Ben Mechak, Magruder, Jr.; Andy Mears, Potomac Falls, Jr.; Mark Meyer, Whitman, Soph.; Haywood Miller, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.; Mike Papageorge, Robinson, Sr.; Alex Smith, DeMatha, Soph.; Sean Stewart, Wootton, Soph.; Kevin Vallario, Good Counsel, Fr.; Will Webber, Thomas Stone, Jr.; Sean Whipkey, Gonzaga, Sr.; Tim Wingert, Robinson, Soph.

Top Relay Teams
200 Medley: Georgetown Prep (Brady Fox, Fr; Jon Pool, Jr.; Robert Grimmett-Norris, Jr.; Andrew Relihan, Soph.)
200 Freestyle: Gonzaga (Ryan Shipley, Jr.; Brendan Murphy, Jr.; Brendan Whipkey, Fr.; Sean Whipkey, Sr.)
400 Freestyle: Robinson (Drew Finelli, Sr.; Tim Wingert, Soph., Matt Krebs, Jr.; Zach Holmes, Jr.)

Teams chosen by The Washington Post's Rich Campbell and Charlie Moss

© 2006 The Washington Post Company