Boys' Indoor Track & Field

Front Row (left to right): Mike Spooner, West Springfield; Brad Siragusa, Chantilly; Michael Garel, Brooke Point; Ian Prohaska, Lake Braddock. Second row: Sean Holston, Lee; Aaron Johnson, Oxon Hill; Aaron Taylor, Gonzaga; Emani Lee-Odai, Banneker; Kelli Thibou, Eleanor Roosevelt. Back row: Jaumale Sykes, DeMatha; Justin Duncan, Madison; Coach Austin Bascilio Gibbs, Forestville; Randy Lee, Carroll; Aaron Anderson, Bishop McNamara. Not pictured: Devan Clark, Edison. (Toni L. Sandys - The Washington Post)

Athlete of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Honorable Mention   Top Relay Teams

Athlete of the Year

Sean Holston | Lee Jr.
Holston was the area's top sprinter this winter, winning a Virginia AAA title in the 300 meters two weeks after breaking meet records in the 55 and 300 at the Northern Region championships. His state time of 33.94 was an area best, and he took third in the 55 after running a preliminary time of 6.37 seconds, another area best. He won the regional 55 time of 6.38 seconds to break a 20-year-old record, and his 300 time (34.60) shattered a 13-year mark.

Coach of the Year

Austin Bascilio Gibbs | Forestville
Forestville won its first indoor track state championship, using two victories from Chris Anderson in the 500 and 800 meters, one from Wayne Moten in the 300 and one in the 4x400 relay to cap an impressive postseason. Gibbs, who has coached the Knights for 23 years, also led the team to a 2A/1A East Region championship.

First Team

Aaron Anderson, Bishop, McNamara Sr.
Anderson was dominant in the sprints, capturing the 55-meter title at five different meets. His season best was 6.39 seconds, which he ran to win the Kutztown (Pa.) Invitational.

Devan Clark, Edison, Sr.
Clark was the area's best shot-putter, with a season-best throw of 54 feet 10 inches to win the Virginia Tech Invitational. He was the AAA National District and Northern Region champ.

Justin Duncan, Madison, Sr.
Duncan shined late in the season, winning the Virginia AAA triple-jump title by posting an area-best 47 feet 4A inches. That came a week after he jumped a then-area-best 45-8E to win the Northern Region.

Michael Garel, Brooke Point, Sr.
Garel ran an area-best 7.51 seconds in the 55 hurdles to take second in the Virginia AAA championships. He was the Northwestern Region champ in the 55 hurdles and runner-up in the triple jump.

Aaron Johnson, Oxon Hill, Sr.
Johnson quit the basketball team to focus on track and field, and it paid off. He high-jumped an area-best 6 feet 9 inches to win the Maryland 4A/3A title and match the meet record.

Emani Lee-Odai, Banneker, Sr.
Lee pulled off an impressive triple at the DCIAA championships, winning in consecutive races the 55 hurdles (7.69), the 55 (6.43 seconds) and the Bulldogs' 4x200 relay. Will play football for Maryland.

Randy Lee, Carroll, Sr.
The four-time All-Met had season bests of 49.95 seconds in the 400, 1:04.39 in the 500 and 1:57.28 in the 800. He ran on the Lions' 4x400-meter relay, which won a Nike Indoor Nationals title.

Ian Prohaska, Lake Braddock, Jr.
Prohaska won the Virginia AAA Northern Region pole vault title with an area-best mark of 14-3. He vaulted 14-0 to take third in Virginia AAA championships.

Brad Siragusa, Chantilly, Sr.
The four-time All-Met finished fourth in the Nike Indoor Nationals mile with an area-best mark of 4:17.06. Will run for Northern Arizona.

Mike Spooner, West Springfield, Jr.
The area's most consistent distance runner this winter, Spooner was the Virignia AAA champion in the 3,200 (9:20.63) and the Northern Region winner in the 1,600 (4:16.22).

Jaumale Sykes, DeMatha, Sr.
Sykes won the 300 at the GMU Invitational and took second at the Virginia Tech Invitational. He also ran on the Stags' 4x400 relay, which was ranked second in the country.

Aaron Taylor, Gonzaga, Jr.
Taylor won seven races, including a double in the 500 and 1,000 at the Hoxton Invitational. He was ninth in the 800 at the Nike Indoor Nationals with a time of 1:57.16.

Kelli Thibou, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jr.
Thibou helped the Raiders to the Maryland 4A title with a win in the 800 (state-record 1:57.18) and a runner-up finish in the 500.

Honorable Mention
Chris Anderson, Forestville, Sr.; Ed Baldwin, Edison, Sr.; Taylor Bostick, Jefferson, Jr.; Corryl Boyd, Westlake, Jr.; Matt Centrowitz, Broadneck, Jr.; Vontae Davis, Dunbar, Sr.; Marcus Dickerson, C.H. Flowers, Sr.; Jason Driscoll, Battlefield, Sr.; Jordan Dyson, Frederick, Sr.; Craig Gaddy, Bladensburg, Sr.; Mikias Gelagle, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.; Dan Leyh, Colonial Forge, Sr.; Bret Ligon, Richard Montgomery, Sr.; Matthias Meyer, Liberty, Sr.; Jeff Miller, South County, Jr.; Wayne Moten, Forestville, Sr.; Justin Murdock, Glen Burnie, Soph.; David Newkirk, Westfield, Sr.; Thomas Porter, Mountain View, Fr.; Camal Pugh, Oxon Hill, Sr.; Andrew Revelle, Atholton, Jr.; Jeremy Samuels, DeMatha, Sr.; Jared Simmons, Stonewall Jackson, Sr.; Phillip Taylor, Gwynn Park, Sr.; Eric Tyler, Douglass, Sr.; Brandon Wright, Long Reach, Sr.; Marcus Wyche, Paint Branch, Sr.

Top Relay Teams
4x200: DeMatha (Geoffrey Daley, Jaumale Sykes, Michael Lemon, Jeremy Samuels)
4x400: DeMatha (Geoffrey Daley, Jaumale Sykes, Sean Suber, Jeremy Samuels)
4x800: Robinson (Christian Witcher, Tommy Barrineau, Chris Clark, Mark Hussa)

Teams chosen by The Washington Post's Sean P. Flynn

© 2006 The Washington Post Company