Front Row (left to right): Lam Le, Manassas Park; Greg Saumenig, Old Mill; Justin Bowser, Arundel; Andy Lowy, Sherwood; Will Sharbaugh, Whitman. Second row: Eric Jobe, La Plata; Ryan Buff, Calvert; Calvin Cardillo, Hayfield; Colin Miller, Centreville; Brad Katzenberger, Damascus. Back row: Matt Jones, Robinson; Todd Smoot, Manassas Park; Coach Bryan Hazard, Robinson; Vince Taweel, Hammond; Eren Civan, Whitman. Not pictured: Michael Bressler, Progressive Christian; John Holloway, Magruder. (Toni L. Sandys - The Washington Post)

Wrestler of the Year   Coach of the Year   First Team   Second Team   Honorable Mention

Wrestler of the Year

152 Eren Civan | Whitman, Jr.
Civan, the two-time All-Met, posted his third undefeated season by going 40-0 after claiming the Maryland 4A/3A 152-pound title. He has won the 4A/3A West Region and Montgomery County championships three times each, has a career record of 120-0 and is looking to become the third wrestler to win four Maryland state tournament titles.

Coach of the Year

Bryan Hazard | Robinson
The 10th-year coach has directed one of the most consistent programs in Virginia. The Rams placed fifth at the Virginia AAA tournament, their fifth top-five finish since 2002, and placed second in the Northern Region for the sixth time. Hazard was also instrumental in bringing the state tournament back to Northern Virginia for the first time since 1987.

First Team

103 Will Sharbaugh | Whitman, Jr.
Sharbaugh won his first Maryland 4A/3A title after winning Montgomery and 4A/3A West Region championships to finish 37-0. He has gone 99-24 the past three years.

112 Greg Saumenig | Old Mill Jr.
Saumenig won his first Maryland 4A/3A title after winning Anne Arundel and 4A/3A East Region tournaments. He was 34-1, improving his career record to 93-18.

119 Andy Lowy Sherwood Jr.
A two-time All-Met, Lowy won the Maryland 4A/3A title after winning the 103-pound state title last year, finishing 34-0. He is 95-7 for his career.

125 Justin Bowser | Arundel Sr.
Bowser claimed his second consecutive Maryland 4A/3A 125-pound title after winning the Anne Arundel County and Maryland 4A/3A East Region tournaments for the fourth straight year. Finished his career with an Anne Arundel County-record 146 victories.

130 Lam Le | Manassas Park Sr.
The four-time Bull Run District and Region B champion won his third straight Virginia A title. Wrestling primarily againstAAA competition, he finished the season 48-1 and ended his career 175-15.

135 Ryan Buff | Calvert Sr.
Buff earned his second Maryland 2A/1A championship to cap a 43-0 season, which included 30 pins. The Southern Maryland Athletic Conference's career winningest wrestler finished his prep career 155-3 after a pair of unbeaten seasons.

135 Todd Smoot | Manassas Park Sr.
Only the second wrestler ever to win four Virginia A titles, Smoot also swept the Bull Run and Region B tournaments for the fourth year in a row. He finished the season 26-1, giving him a 140-6 career record.

140 Vince Taweel | Hammond Jr.
The Maryland 2A/1A champion finished 36-1 after claiming the 130-pound title as a sophomore and the 125-pound title as a freshman. One of just 28 Maryland wrestlers to win three state titles. Career record: 111-7.

145 Michael Bressler | Progressive Christian Jr.
Bressler finished second at the National Prep Tournament after winning the Maryland Independent Schools Tournament. Finished 59-2, with both the losses coming to state champions.

160 Brad Katzenberger | Damascus Sr.
Katzenberger won his first Maryland 4A/3A title after winning Montgomery and 4A/3A West Region championships. Finished the season 36-0.

171 Matt Jones | Robinson Jr.
The three-time Northern Region champion won his first Virginia AAA title. Jones finished the season 51-3, including 34 pins, and did not lose to an area opponent. His career record is 134-14.

189 Calvin Cardillo | Hayfield Sr.
The two-time Northern Region champ won his first Virginia AAA title. The Northern Region tournament's most outstanding wrestler, Cardillo finished the season 50-5, including a seventh-place finish at the Beast of the East tournament.

215 John Holloway | Magruder Sr.
The two-time Maryland 4A/3A champions also won Montgomery County and 4A/3A West Region championships. Season record: 31-0.

Hvy Colin Miller | Centreville Sr.
In just his third year of wrestling, Miller won Concorde District, Northern Region and Virginia AAA titles on his way to a 60-0 season. Miller, who will play football for Central Michigan, ended his career with a 103-21 record.

Hvy Eric Jobe | La Plata Sr.
Jobe closed his career as La Plata's first state champion, winning the Maryland 4A/3A tournament to conclude a 40-1 season. Will play football for West Virginia.

Second Team
103   George Billy , Robinson, Fr.
103   Robbie Eloshway, Atholton, Sr.
112   Michael Garofalo, Colonial Forge, Fr.
119   Kyle Terrill, Forest Park, Sr.
125   Lou Ruland, St. Mary's-Annapolis, Sr.
130   Collin Leadbeter, Northern, Jr.
135   Lucas Black, Chopticon, Sr.
140   Matt Hartshorne, Brooke Point, Sr.
145   Bubby Graham, Annapolis, Soph.
152   Taylor Green, River Hill, Sr.
160   Matt Bichner, Glenelg, Sr.
171   Zumarr Archer, Gar-Field, Sr.
171   Brent Stewart, Paint Branch, Sr.
189   Mike Waters, Centreville, Sr.
215   Patrick Finch, Lee, Sr.
Hvy.  Josh Wine, Massaponnax, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Andrew Bannister, Bishop McNamara, Fr.; Michael Bowman, Langley, Soph.; Shane Gentry, Colonial Forge, Fr., Jake Shilling, La Plata, Soph.; Tyler Strube, Middletown, Soph.
Devon Gillett, Hammond, Jr.; Jonathan Faringer, DeMatha, Sr.; Sean McCarty, Northwest, Soph.; Edwin Randall, Northern, Jr.; S.R. Shiley, James Wood, Jr.
Kevin Chapman, Fauquier, Jr; George Ester, Arundel, Sr.; Mostafa Ibrahim, West Springfield, Sr.; Casey Marwine, Linganore, Sr.
Rhett Beattie, Sherwood, Jr.; Terry Bartholomew, Brunswick, Sr.; David Sledz, Hylton, Sr.; Zach Tolbert, Magruder, Sr.
Steven Gamble, Sherwood, Fr.; David Helmer, Langley, Fr.; Gregg Martino, Battlefield, Jr.; Matt Orzechowski, La Plata, Sr.; Steve Sargent, DeMatha, Jr.
Joel Hutchens, Westfield, Jr.; Reggie Parker, DeMatha, Sr.; Chris Poleto, Colonial Forge, Sr.; Jonahan Romero, Hayfield, Sr.; Mike Vakas, Broadneck, Sr.
Paul Carter, Northern, Jr.; Phil Chichester, Colonial Forge, Jr.; Adam Fitterer, Fairfax, Sr.
Ryan Conroy, Atholton, Jr.; Sam Hunt, Brooke Point, Sr.; Abe Hunter, Broadneck, Jr.; Trevor Muhler, Colonial Forge, Sr.; Curk Smart, Huntingtown, Sr.
Lee Carsten, Robinson, Sr.; Trey Kirkland, Warren County, Jr.; Steven Ours, Hayfield, Soph.; Xavier Rathlev, Broadneck, Sr.
Casey Hudson, Oakton, Sr.; Tariq Johnson, Forest Park. Sr.; Tyler Sheldon, North County, Sr.; Deven Watson, Bowie, Sr.
Brandon Cox, Chopticon, Sr. ; Eric Monday, Madison, Sr.; Brad Nielson, Walkersville, Sr.; Petie Siler, Brentsville, Sr.; Rob Wills, Lake Braddock, Jr.
Russell Dawson, Washington-Lee, Sr.; Chris Elliott, South River, Sr.; Scott Miller, DeMatha, Sr.; Steve Sessa, Hammond, Sr.
Zach Brown, Wilde Lake, Sr.; George Calvert, Gar-Field, Sr.; Matt Tudor, Brentsville, Sr.; Tim Wheatley, Walkersville, Sr. Heavyweight
Jacob Hornick, Calvert, Sr.; Aaron Hull, Liberty, Sr.; Chris Hutton, Largo, Sr.; Blaise Ruffing, Potomac Falls, Jr.

Teams chosen by The Washington Post's Jon Gallo, Andrew Levine and Ryan Young

© 2006 The Washington Post Company