Basketball: Boys | Girls   |   Indoor Track: Boys | Girls   |   Swimming: Boys | Girls   |   Hockey  |  Wrestling

Boys' Indoor Track

First Team  |  Top Relay Teams  |  Honorable Mention

Player of the Year

Sean Holston, Sr.
The three-time All-Met was one of the top sprinters in the country, winning the Virginia AAA 300-meter title a week after becoming the first male to sweep the sprints at the Northern Region championships. At Nike Nationals, he won the 400 in a meet-record 47.12 seconds before winning the 200 in 21.53. Closes his indoor career owning the fastest times in the country for 300, 400 and 500 meters.

Coach of the Year

Nigel Holder
In just his second year, Holder took Meade from the middle of the pack and made it into one of Maryland's top teams. The Mustangs, who finished 16th a year ago, were third at the Maryland 4A/3A championships after capturing their first region title in school history. Meade also won its second straight Anne Arundel County title after finishing seventh in 2005.

First Team


Corryl Boyd Jordan Calderwood Jerod Franklin Ben Horner
Westlake, Sr. Langley, Sr. C.H. Flowers, Sr. Brunswick, Jr.
Repeat All-Met won the Maryland 4A/3A 300-meter title in 34.65. Won SMAC titles in the 300, 500, long jump and triple jump, setting meet records in the 300 and the long jump. Versatile athlete won AAA Northern Region titles in the 55 hurdles (7.77), high jump (6-3) and pole vault (12-6). Personal best in the 55 hurdles was 7.69. Franklin won the 800 at the Maryland 4A/3A meet in 1:56.94 -- a meet record and an area-best time. Won the Prince George's title in the 800 and regional crown in the 1,600. Horner had an area-best shot put distance (52-1 1/4 ) at the MVAL Antietam championships. He also won the Maryland 2A/1A championship with a toss of 51-1 1/4.


Chris Moen Justin Murdock Tyrone Putman Mike Spooner
Walter Johnson, Jr. Glen Burnie, Jr. Gonzaga, Sr. West Springfield, Sr.
Moen won the invitational mile at the New Balance Games (4:16.76) and took fourth in the Millrose Mile (4:26.32). He also won the Maryland 4A/3A 1,600 title as well as the 800 and 1,600 at regionals. Murdock won the Maryland 4A/3A 55 title in a meet-record 6.21 seconds, two days after winning the 4A/3A Central Region title in 6.27. Those times were the fastest in the country this winter. The Eagles' starting running back in the fall, Putman posted the area's best triple jump (46-8 3/4 ) to finish seventh at the Nike Indoor Nationals. At the Hoxton Invitational, his leap of 45-8 1/2 set a new meet record. The three-time All-Met ran an area-best 9:13.21 in the 3,200 to set a meet record at the AAA Northern Region meet. He took first in the 1,600 and second in the 3,200 at the state meet. Will run for Tennessee.


Sean Suber Cameron Thomas Chris Tyson
DeMatha, Sr. H.D. Woodson, Sr. Washington-Lee, Sr.
Suber owns Maryland's fastest time in the 200 (22.04) and second-fastest times in the 300 (34.84) and 400 (48.95). Anchored the Stags' elite 4x400 relay team. Thomas scored 40 points at the DCIAA championships, winning the triple jump (43-5), high jump (6-2), 1,600 (5:00.72) and the 1,000 (3:02.06). Tyson was runner-up in the 3,200 (personal-best 9:25.83) at the AAA Northern Region meet, and he won the state title in the 1,000 (personal-best 2:31.05).

Top Relay Teams

4x200 -- Westlake (Corryl Boyd, Kenard Harris, Jesse Mitchell, Greg Walker)
4x400 -- DeMatha (Taylor Sykes, Chad Rogers, Travis McKinnon, Sean Suber)
4x800 -- Eleanor Roosevelt (Adrian Browne, Kelli Thibou, Malcolm Womack, Daniel Edmund)

Honorable Mention

Matt Anderson, Westfield, Soph.; Blake Arnold, Colonial Forge, Sr.; Matt Baum, Brunswick, Sr.; Graham Bazell, Atholton, Soph.; Adrian Browne, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.; Jamal Currica, Damascus, Sr.; Brandon Davis, Centreville, Sr.; Kevin Dillard, Westfield, Sr.; Quentin James, Reservoir, Sr.; Charles Johnson, Oxon Hill, Sr.; Joe LoRusso, Oakton, Jr.; Ermin Mujezinovic, Herndon, Sr.; Michael Nkwanga, Battlefield, Sr.; Thomas Porter, Mountain View, Soph.; Zach Ray, Huntingtown, Jr.; Sean Stanley, Gaithersburg, Soph.; Aaron Taylor, Gonzaga, Sr.; Kelli Thibou, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sr.; Damien Thigpen, Stonewall Jackson, Soph.; Lamaar Thomas, Friendly, Jr.; Elias Tousley, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.; Rob Wetzel, Spalding, Sr.; DeShun Whitaker, Mountain View, Sr.; Zack Williams, Forest Park, Jr.; Malik Zafar, Meade, Sr.

© The Washington Post Company