Basketball: Boys | Girls   |   Indoor Track: Boys | Girls   |   Swimming: Boys | Girls   |   Hockey  |  Wrestling

Ice Hockey

First Team  |  Second Team  |  Honorable Mention

Player of the Year

Patrick Cullen, Sr.
Gonzaga  |  Forward
Cullen's 18 goals and 13 assists led Gonzaga as the Eagles became the first team to win three straight Maryland Scholastic Hockey League titles. The Eagles trailed 2-0 in the Championship game before Cullen scored twice to send the contest to overtime. Will play at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Coach of the Year

Bryan Brady
South River
Brady guided South River, which had only one senior, to its first Maryland Scholastic Hockey League public school title. In the Seahawks' 9-8 championship game win, he altered his lines in the third period as South river scored three straight goals to claim the title.

First Team


Bailey Fogarty Holton-Arms   |   Jr.   |   Forward
Fogarty led Holton-Arms to its fourth straight MSHL girls' title and also helped the Panthers qualify for the Women's Interscholastic Hockey League of the Mid-Atlantic playoffs for the first time. She had 53 points (36 goals, 17 assists) in 19 games.

Raymond Furr Woodbridge   |   Jr.   |   Forward
Selected as the NVSHL player of the year, Furr had a league-leading 42 regular season points (25 goals, 17 assists) for the Vikings (9-1). He also proved that size -- he's 5 feet 6 -- is not a prerequisite for success in hockey.

Ryan Holley Gonzaga   |   Sr.   |   Defenseman
Described by Coach Paul Tilch as "the best captain I've ever had," this two-time All-Met had seven goals and 15 assists, played multiple positions for the undefeated Eagles and scored the winning goal in overtime of the championship game.

Chris Wingo Langley   |   Sr.   |   Goalie
Wingo had five shutouts (including four in a row) in 10 games, a Northern Virginia Scholastic Hockey League single-season record. He finished the regular season with a 0.80 goals against average for the Saxons (8-2).

Jason Hughes Osbourn Park   |   Sr.   |   Defenseman
Hughes's 22 regular season points (seven goals, 15 assists) tied him for the team lead and his defense helped the Yellow Jackets win their first NVSHL championship over previously undefeated Stone Bridge.

Jason Klauka Linganore   |   Sr.   |   Forward
After leading all MSHL public school players with 52 points (32 goals, 20 assists) in the regular season, Klauka had four goals and three assists in the Lancers' championship game loss.

Nick Peterson Georgetown Prep   |   Sr.   |   Forward
An offensive player who welcomes physical contact, this boarding school student from Chelsea, Quebec, had 42 regular season points (28 goals, 14 assists), second-most among MSHL private school players.

Second Team

G - Dylan Barber, Osbourn Park, Sr.
D - Michael Fayad, Bullis, Sr.
D - Andrew Panzarella, Gonzaga, Jr.
F - Steven Burke, Bullis, Jr.
F - Andrew Devore, South River, Sr.
F - Ryan Dove, Hylton, Sr.
F - Daniel Durantaye, Centennial, Sr.
F - Scott Gray, DeMatha, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Goaltenders: Matthew Berry, Glenelg, Sr.; T.J. Cuneo, O'Connell, Jr.; Tommy Fields, Chantilly, Sr.; Robbie Halpin, Paul VI Catholic, Sr.; Ryan Haughey, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr.; Kelci Lanthier, Linganore, Jr.; Matt Mitchell, Wootton, Sr.; Greg Monahan, DeMatha, Sr.; Corey Walwaski, Georgetown Prep, Jr.

Defensemen: Owen Affe, Loudoun County, Sr.; Ken Bickel, Langley, Sr.; Jack Blumenthal, McLean, Jr.; Eric Lusby, Severna Park, Sr.; Brian Perdiago, Wilde Lake, Sr.; Wyatt Reser, DeMatha, Sr.; Brandon Ruhe, Stone Bridge, Jr.; Greg Schappell, Glenelg, Sr.; Ryan Ulf, Walter Johnson, Jr.

Forwards: Steven Alfano, Spalding, Jr.; Bill Bock, Stone Bridge, Jr.; Oleg Bordoygov, Tuscarora, Sr.; Chris Devore, South River, Soph.; C.J. Fletcher, Broad Run, Sr.; Patrick Foster, Gonzaga, Jr.; Erik Frank, Hylton, Sr.; Zac Hess, Woodbridge, Jr.; Cory Jensen, Severna Park, Jr.; Grant Kaleikau, Gaithersburg, Sr.; Danny Karbeling, Springbrook/Einstein, Sr.; Reid Mayberry, W.T. Woodson, Sr.; Ryan McDonald, Osbourn Park, Sr.; Sean McLaughlin, O'Connell, Sr.; Adam Mitchell, South River, Jr.; Michael Montross, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.; Pedro Perrella, Frederick, Jr.; Garrett Quinn, Stone Bridge, Jr.; Nickolas Sorkin, Bullis, Soph.; Chris Speaker, Northern, Sr.

© The Washington Post Company