Basketball: Boys | Girls   |   Track: Boys | Girls   |   Swimming: Boys | Girls   |  Wrestling   |   Ice Hockey

Ice Hockey

First Team | Second Team | Honorable Mention

Featured Video

What Does It Take to Be an All-Met?
The Washington Post's scholastic sports staff asked, and All-Mets answered:
Shaun Gibbons, Steven Burke, T.J. Cuneo and Ray Furr

Player of the Year / Coach of the Year

Raymond Furr | Woodbridge » Forward » Sr.
A talented skater and adept scorer, Furr led the Northern Virginia Scholastic Hockey League with 41 points (19 goals, tied for third most in NVSHL, and a league-leading 22 assists). He also helped the Vikings reach the NVSHL championship game.
» Favorite Musician: Citizen Cope
Furr likes Citizen Cope’s laid-back sound. “I’ve known about him for a year from my brother and sister, and I guess I like him because he’s from around here. I listen to him a lot on my iPod on bus trips.”

John Lynch | Stone Bridge
Along with assistant Gary Pouliot, Lynch led the Bulldogs to their fifth appearance in the NVSHL championship game in seven seasons and third title, the most of any team in the league. Stone Bridge is 34-1 in its past 35 regular season games.

First Team

T.J. Cuneo Shaun Gibbons Chris Puderbaugh
Woodbridge » Goalie » Sr. DeMatha » Defenseman » Jr. Wootton » Defenseman » Sr.
After helping the Vikings complete a perfect regular season with a 2.72 goals against average, Cuneo made 51 saves in the NVSHL title game. Skilled at killing penalties or leading the power play, Gibbons (seven goals, 11 assists) led the Stags to the inaugural Mid-Atlantic Prep Hockey League championship. As a captain and on-ice leader, Puderbaugh (four goals, seven assists) helped Wootton complete a perfect season (15-0) with its first Maryland Scholastic Hockey League championship.


Steven Burke Bailey Fogarty Pat Foster Ian Gordon
Bullis » Forward » Sr. Holton-Arms » Forward » Sr. Gonzaga » Forward » Sr. St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes
Forward » Jr.
Burke (28 goals, 56 assists) played nearly every minute for the Bulldogs and helped them win the Interstate Athletic Conference regular season title. Will play lacrosse at Johns Hopkins. Fogarty (27 goals, 17 assists) led Holton-Arms to its fifth straight MSHL girls’ title. A repeat All-Met, she finished her career as the Panthers’ all-time leading scorer. Will play lacrosse at Virginia. A two-way player for the Mid-Atlantic Prep Hockey League semifinalists, Foster (four goals, 16 assists) helped the Eagles protect a lead or set up a goal when they needed it. Gordon (15 goals, 25 assists) displayed his versatility by also spending time as a defenseman toward the end of the season and leading the Saints to an improbable IAC tournament championship.

Second Team

G Matt Tyler Gonzaga, So.
D Ken Bickel Langley, Sr.
D David Mann Landon, Jr.
D Neil Rivera Wilde Lake, Sr.
D Brandon Ruhe Stone Bridge, Sr.
F Alex Combs Good Counsel, Sr.
F Scott Futrovsky Wootton, Sr.
F Jonathan Hannums O’Connell, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Goaltender: Michael Band, Bullis, Sr.; John Burrows, Broadneck, Jr.; Miles Hamilton, St. John’s, Sr.; Ryan Haughey, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Sr.; Spencer Nielson, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Jay Williams, Langley, Fr.; Corey Walwaski, Georgetown Prep, Sr.; Paolo Zanello, Germantown, Jr.
Defensemen: Jonathan Carmony, Gonzaga, Jr.; Daniel Cohen, Walter Johnson, Jr.; Wesley Enns, Paul VI, Sr.; Josh Everett, Old Mill, Jr.; Chris Kelly, Whitman, Jr.; Dan Langford, Forest Park, Jr.; Will Newman, St. Stephen’s/St. Agnes, Sr.
Forwards: Chase Ainsworth, Osbourn Park, So.; Stewart Bell, Chantilly, So.; Zach Berry, Glenelg, Sr.; Bill Bock, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Jason Burke, Wootton, Sr.; David Chakola, Landon, Jr.; Lennie Childs, DeMatha, Sr.; Danny Cullen, Gonzaga, Sr.; Jeremy Davis, Broad Run, Sr.; Dmitry Ermakov, Wilde Lake, So.; Lucy Hayes, Holton-Arms, Sr.; Brad Hewick, South River, Sr.; Zach Hess, Woodbridge, Sr.; Sean Hollern, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Cory Jensen, Severna Park, Sr.; James Lindsay, Marriotts Ridge, So.; Jake Lynes, River Hill, Jr.; Hagen Nemzek, Battlefield/Brentsville, Jr.; Pedro Perrella, Frederick, Sr.; Garrett Quinn, Stone Bridge, Sr.; Nat Rojas, Long Reach, Jr.; Alexander Schrager, McLean, Sr.; Nick Sorkin, Bullis, Jr.; C.J. Sweigart, Georgetown Prep, Jr.; John Tiernan, Landon, Sr.; Casey Thrush, DeMatha, So.; Andrew Turgeon, Northern, Sr.

© The Washington Post Company