Movies & Videos
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar

  Oscars coverage

Nominees story

  1998 Oscar Nominees

Best Picture: "Elizabeth,'' "Life Is Beautiful,'' "Saving Private Ryan,'' "Shakespeare in Love,'' "The Thin Red Line.''

Actor: Roberto Benigni, "Life Is Beautiful''; Tom Hanks,''Saving Private Ryan''; Ian McKellen, "Gods and Monsters''; Nick Nolte, "Affliction''; Edward Norton, "American History X.''

Actress: Cate Blanchett, "Elizabeth''; Fernanda Montenegro, "Central Station''; Gwyneth Paltrow, "Shakespeare in Love''; Meryl Streep, "One True Thing''; Emily Watson, "Hilary and Jackie.''

Supporting Actor: James Coburn, "Affliction''; Robert Duvall, "A Civil Action''; Ed Harris, "The Truman Show''; Geoffrey Rush, "Shakespeare in Love''; Billy Bob Thornton, "A Simple Plan.''

Supporting Actress: Kathy Bates, "Primary Colors''; Brenda Blethyn, "Little Voice''; Judi Dench, "Shakespeare in Love''; Rachel Griffiths, "Hilary and Jackie''; Lynn Redgrave, "Gods and Monsters.''

Director: Roberto Benigni, "Life Is Beautiful''; Steven Spielberg, "Saving Private Ryan''; John Madden, "Shakespeare in Love''; Terrence Malick, "The Thin Red Line''; Peter Weir, "The Truman Show.''

Foreign Film: "Central Station,'' Brazil; "Children of Heaven,'' Iran; "The Grandfather,'' Spain; "Life Is Beautiful,'' Italy; "Tango,'' Argentina.

Screenplay (written directly for the screen): Warren Beatty and Jeremy Pikser, "Bulworth''; Vincenzo Cerami and Roberto Benigni, "Life Is Beautiful''; Robert Rodat, "Saving Private Ryan''; Marc Norman and Tom Stoppard, "Shakespeare in Love''; Andrew Niccol, "The Truman Show.''

Screenplay (based on material previously produced or published): Bill Condon, "Gods and Monsters''; Scott Frank, "Out of Sight''; Elaine May, "Primary Colors''; Scott B. Smith, "A Simple Plan''; Terrence Malick, "The Thin Red Line.''

Art Direction: "Elizabeth,'' "Pleasantville,'' "Saving Private Ryan,'' "Shakespeare in Love,'' "What Dreams May Come.''

Cinematography: "A Civil Action,'' "Elizabeth,'' "Saving Private Ryan,'' "Shakespeare in Love,'' "The Thin Red Line.''

Sound: "Armageddon,'' "The Mask of Zorro,'' "Saving Private Ryan,'' "Shakespeare in Love,'' "The Thin Red Line.''

Sound Effects Editing: "Armageddon,'' "The Mask of Zorro,'' "Saving Private Ryan.''

Original Musical or Comedy Score: "A Bug's Life,'' Randy Newman; "Mulan,'' Matthew Wilder, David Zippel and Jerry Goldsmith; "Patch Adams,'' Marc Shaiman; "The Prince of Egypt,'' Stephen Schwartz and Hans Zimmer; "Shakespeare in Love,'' Stephen Warbeck.

Original Dramatic Score: "Elizabeth,'' David Hirschfelder; "Life Is Beautiful,'' Nicola Piovani; "Pleasantville,'' Randy Newman; "Saving Private Ryan,'' John Williams; "The Thin Red Line,'' Hans Zimmer.

Original Song: "I Don't Want to Miss a Thing'' from "Armaggeddon,'' Diane Warren; "The Prayer'' from "Quest for Camelot,'' Carole Bayer Sager, David Foster, Tony Renis and Alberto Testa; "A Soft Place to Fall'' from "The Horse Whisperer,'' Allison Moorer and Gwil Owen; "That'll Do'' from "Babe: Pig in the City,'' Randy Newman; "When You Believe'' from "The Prince of Egypt,'' Stephen Schwartz.

Costume: "Beloved,'' "Elizabeth,'' "Pleasantville,'' "Shakespeare in Love,'' "Velvet Goldmine.''

Documentary Feature: "Dancemaker,'' "The Farm: Angola, U.S.A.,'' "The Last Days,'' "Lenny Bruce: Swear to Tell the Truth,'' "Regret to Inform.''

Documentary (short subject): "The Personals: Improvisations on Romance in the Golden Years,'' "A Place in the Land,'' "Sunrise Over Tiananmen Square.''

Film Editing: "Life Is Beautiful,'' "Out of Sight,'' "Saving Private Ryan,'' "Shakespeare in Love,'' "The Thin Red Line.''

Makeup: "Elizabeth,'' "Saving Private Ryan,'' "Shakespeare in Love.''

Animated Short Films: "Bunny,'' "The Canterbury Tales,'' "Jolly Roger,'' "More,'' "When Life Departs.''

Live Action Short Film: "Culture,'' "Election Night (Valgaften),'' "Holiday Romance,'' "La Carte Postale (The Postcard),'' "Victor.''

Visual Effects: "Armageddon,'' "Mighty Joe Young,'' "What Dreams May Come.''

Oscar winners previously announced this year:

Thalberg Award: Producer-director Norman F. Jewison.

Scientific and Technical Award: Avid Technology, Inc.

Honorary Award: Director Elia Kazan.

Back to the top

Academy Awards nomination list courtesy of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Navigation Barl
Navigation Bar