Movies & Videos
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar

  Go to Oscars Page

Go to Video Finder

  This is a list of all the Oscar winners from 1927 to 1995. The list has complete winners back to 1987, including links to nominees from 1988 to 1995, and winners in the major categories from 1927 to 1986.

1927 to 1929: The first Academy Award for Best Picture goes to the silent film "Wings" set during World War I.

1930 to 1939: Katharine Hepburn earns her first of four statues; Hattie McDaniel becomes the first black to win an Oscar.

1940 to 1949: William Wyler wins twice for directing; "Casablanca" is the top film in 1943.

1950 to 1959: "All About Eve" receives a record 14 nominations in 1950; "Ben Hur" wins a record 11 in 1959.

1960 to 1969: "West Side Story" takes 10 Oscars in 1961; "Midnight Cowboy" is the only X-rated film to win Best Picture.

1970 to 1979: "The Godfather" and "The Godfather, Part II" are named Best Picture; "Rocky," an underdog, takes the top prize.

1980 to 1989: Katharine Hepburn wins her record fourth Oscar; Oliver Stone earns two directing awards.

1990 to 1998: Film veterans Al Pacino, Clint Eastwood, Steven Spielberg and Susan Saradon finally are winners. One film is "Titanic."

Back to the top

Navigation Barl
Navigation Bar