Movies & Videos
Navigation Bar
Navigation Bar


Go to 1988 Winners

Go to Oscars Page

  1988 Oscar Nominees

Picture: "The Accidental Tourist"; "Dangerous Liaisons"; "Mississippi Burning"; "Rain Man"; "Working Girl."

Actor: Gene Hackman, "Mississippi Burning"; Tom Hanks, "Big"; Dustin Hoffman, "Rain Man"; Edward James Olmos, "Stand and Deliver"; Max von Sydow, "Pelle the Conqueror."

Actress: Glenn Close, "Dangerous Liaisons"; Jodie Foster, "The Accused"; Melanie Griffith, "Working Girl"; Meryl Streep, "A Cry in the Dark"; Sigourney Weaver, "Gorillas in the Mist."

Supporting Actor: Alec Guinness, "Little Dorrit"; Kevin Kline, "A Fish Called Wanda"; Martin Landau,"Tucker: The Man and His Dream"; River Phoenix, "Running on Empty"; Dean Stockwell,"Married to the Mob."

Supporting Actress: Joan Cusack, "Working Girl"; Geena Davis, "The Accidental Tourist"; Frances McDormand, "Mississippi Burning"; Michelle Pfeiffer,"Dangerous Liaisons"; Sigourney Weaver, "Working Girl."

Director: Charles Crichton, "A Fish Called Wanda"; Martin Scorsese, "The Last Temptation of Christ"; Alan Parker, "Mississippi Burning"; Barry Levinson, "Rain Man"; Mike Nichols, "Working Girl."

Original Screenplay: Gary Ross and Anne Spielberg, "Big"; Ron Shelton, "Bull Durham"; John Cleese, "A Fish Called Wanda"; Ronald Bass and Barry Morrow, "Rain Man"; Naomi Foner, "Running on Empty."

Adapted Screenplay: Frank Galati and Lawrence Kasdan, "The Accidental Tourist"; Christopher Hampton, "Dangerous Liaisons"; Anna Hamilton Phelan, "Gorillas in the Mist"; Christine Edzard, "Little Dorrit"; Jean-Claude Carrie`re and Philip Kaufman, "The Unbearable Lightness of Being."

Foreign-Language Film: "Hanussen," Hungary; "The Music Teacher," Belgium; "Pelle the Conqueror," Denmark; "Salaam Bombay!," India; "Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown," Spain.

Art Direction: Art director Albert Brenner and set decorator Garrett Lewis, "Beaches"; art director Stuart Craig and set decorator Gerard James, "Dangerous Liaisons"; art director Ida Random and set decorator Linda DeScenna, "Rain Man"; art director Dean Tavoularis and set decorator Armin Ganz, "Tucker: The Man and His Dream"; art director Elliot Scott and set decorator Peter Howitt, "Who Framed Roger Rabbit."

Cinematography: Peter Biziou, "Mississippi Burning"; John Seale, "Rain Man"; Conrad L. Hall, "Tequila Sunrise"; Sven Nykvist, "The Unbearable Lightness of Being"; Dean Cundey,"Who Framed Roger Rabbit."

Costume Design: Deborah Nadoolman, "Coming to America"; James Acheson, "Dangerous Liaisons"; Jane Robinson, "A Handful of Dust"; Patricia Norris, "Sunset"; Milena Canonero, "Tucker: The Man and His Dream."

Documentary Feature: Robert Bilheimer and Ronald Mix, "The Cry of Reason -- Beyers Naude: An Afrikaner Speaks Out"; Marcel Ophuls, "Hotel Terminus: The Life and Times of Klaus Barbie"; Bruce Weber and Nan Bush, "Let's Get Lost"; Ginny Durrin, "Promises to Keep"; Renee Tajima and Christine Choy, "Who Killed Vincent Chin?"

Documentary Short Subject: Karen Goodman, "The Children's Storefront"; Lise Yasui and Ann Tegnell, "Family Gathering"; Thomas B. Fleming and Daniel J. Marks, "Gang Cops"; Nancy Hale and Meg Partridge, "Portrait of Imogen"; William Guttentag and Malcolm Clarke, "You Don't Have to Die."

Film Editing: Frank J. Urioste and John F. Link, "Die Hard"; Stuart Baird, "Gorillas in the Mist"; Gerry Hambling, "Mississippi Burning"; Stu Linder, "Rain Man"; Arthur Schmidt,"Who Framed Roger Rabbit."

Makeup: Ve Neill, Steve LaPorte and Robert Short, "Beetlejuice"; Rick Baker, "Coming to America"; Tom Burman and Bari Drieband-Burman, "Scrooged."

Original Score: John Williams, "The Accidental Tourist"; George Fenton, "Dangerous Liaisons"; Maurice Jarre, "Gorillas in the Mist"; Dave Grusin, "The Milagro Beanfield War"; Hans Zimmer, "Rain Man."

Original Score: Bob Telson, "Calling You," "from" "Bagdad Cafe"; Carly Simon, "Let the River Run," "from" "Working Girl"; Lamont Dozier and Phil Collins, "Two Hearts," "from" "Buster."

Animated Short Film: Cordell Barker, "The Cat Came Back"; Bill Kroyer, "Technological Threat"; John Lasseter, "Tin Toy."

Live-Action Short Film: Dean Parisot and Steven Wright, "The Appointment of Dennis Jennings"; Matia Karrell, "Cadillac Dreams"; Gary Moss, "Gullah Tales."

Sound: Les Frescholtz, Dick Alexander, Vern Poore and Willie D. Burton, "Bird"; Don Bassman, Kevin F. Cleary, Richard Overton and Al Overton, "Die Hard"; Andy Nelson, Brian Saunders and Peter Handford, "Gorillas in the Mist"; Robert Litt, Elliot Tyson, Richard C. Kline and Danny Michael, "Mississippi Burning"; Robert Knudson, John Boyd, Don Digirolamo and Tony Dawe, "Who Framed Roger Rabbit."

Sound Effects Editing: Stephen H. Flick and Richard Shorr, "Die Hard"; Charles L. Campbell and Louis L. Edemann, "Who Framed Roger Rabbit"; Ben Burtt and Richard Hymns, "Willow."

Visual Effects: Richard Edlund, Al DiSarro, Brent Boates and Thaine Morris, "Die Hard"; Ken Ralston, Richard Williams, Edward Jones and George Gibbs, "Who Framed Roger Rabbit"; Dennis Muren, Michael McAlister, Phil Tippett and Chris Evans, "Willow."

Back to the top

Navigation Barl
Navigation Bar