Campaign 2016

Who’s winning Florida: Live election results

Election Nov. 8. Get information about how to vote in Florida here. See primary results here.

What's happening in Florida
Updated Nov. 8 at 10:54 p.m.

Republican Marco Rubio has beaten Patrick Murphy, a Democrat, in the race for the Florida Senate seat currently held by Rubio.

Rubio was knocked out of the race for the Republican presidential nomination during the primaries, and flip-flopped on whether he would run for reelection. His reelection bid was considered a likely look forward to the 2020 presidential election. Murphy looked well-positioned to take that race in the wake of a thought-to-be retiring Rubio, but questions were raised after allegations that he domestically abused his wife surfaced in July. A widely circulated video showed Grayson getting confrontational with a reporter who asked him about the story.

All of Florida's House seats have been decided; five switched hands, with three going to Democrats and two going to Republicans. Republicans have held 14 seats, while Democrats have held eight. Every House seat is up for election every two years.

Florida voted for Republican businessman Donald Trump in Tuesday’s presidential election.

Past votes

Voters in Florida have picked the winning candidate in election cycles since 1972. In 2012, they voted for with % of the vote. Below, look at the winner and margin of victory in the state, and which candidates went on to win the election.

Elected president

2012 presidential results
Most Read Politics