Campaign 2016

Who’s winning North Carolina: Live election results

Election Nov. 8. Get information about how to vote in North Carolina here. See primary results here.

What's happening in North Carolina
Updated Dec. 5 at 12:37 p.m.

Republican Richard Burr has beaten Deborah Ross, a Democrat, in the race for the North Carolina Senate seat currently held by Burr.

Burr was more well known than Ross, though she outraised Burr in overall fundraising. Burr was also negatively affected by the ongoing “Bathroom bill” controversy. Ross made HB2 - which requires people to use bathrooms based on their birth gender rather than what they identify with - a major issue in the campaign.

Democrat Roy Cooper is challenging incumbent Republican Pat McCrory in the race to be governor of North Carolina.

McCrory had also been tainted by the aftermath of HB2, and Cooper looked to get a boost from the presidential race. McCrory was caught off guard by the big business backlash to the bill he signed into law, and Cooper took advantage of that by painting McCrory as a leader who makes policy decisions that are bad for business.

All of North Carolina's House seats have been decided. Republicans have held 10 seats, while Democrats have held three. Every House seat is up for election every two years.

North Carolina voted for Republican businessman Donald Trump in Tuesday’s presidential election.

Earlier versions of this story stated that Democrat Roy Cooper is the incumbent in the race to be governor of North Carolina. Gov. Pat McCrory is the incumbent Governor of the state.

Past votes

Voters in North Carolina have picked the winning candidate in election cycles since 1972. In 2012, they voted for with % of the vote. Below, look at the winner and margin of victory in the state, and which candidates went on to win the election.

Elected president

2012 presidential results
Most Read Politics