Campaign 2016

Who’s winning South Dakota: Live election results

Election Nov. 8. Get information about how to vote in South Dakota here. See primary results here.

What's happening in South Dakota
Updated Nov. 8 at 10:13 p.m.

Republican John Thune has beaten Jay Williams, a Democrat, in the race for the South Dakota Senate seat currently held by Thune.

Republican Kristi Noem has beaten Paula Hawks, a Democrat, in a race for South Dakota's only House seat, currently held by Noem.

South Dakota voted for Republican businessman Donald Trump in Tuesday’s presidential election.

Past votes

Voters in South Dakota have picked the winning candidate in election cycles since 1972. In 2012, they voted for with % of the vote. Below, look at the winner and margin of victory in the state, and which candidates went on to win the election.

Elected president

2012 presidential results

Chris Matthews says Democrats alienate the white working class by talking about it sneeringly.

Nothing was said publicly about a 2015 incident as Wesley Goodman campaigned for office. He resigned this week from the Ohio legislature over a sexual encounter in his office.

Load More
Most Read Politics
The story must be told.
Subscribe to The Washington Post