Alexandria National Bank of Northern Virginia has, for the first time, elected two women to its board of directors.

Kathryn M. Everhart is president of Everhart Jewelers of Fairfax. She is also a trustee of the Northern Virginia Community College and a member of the Economic Development Commission of the City of Fairfax. She has, for the past year, been a member of Alexandria National's advisory board.

Also elected was Linda H. Michael, a partner in the Alexandria architecture firm of Michael and Michael. She is also a member of the Alexandria City Council's Gadsby Urban Renewal Architectural Advisory Panel.

Reynolds Metal Co. of Richmond has elected William H. Darden vice president for government relations. He succeeds Edd H. Hyde who retired after 20 years with the aluminum producer.

Darden joined Reynolds in 1974 as director of government relations. Prior to that, he served as a judge on the U.S. Military Court of Appeals, to which he was appointed in 1968 by President Johnson. He was designated chief judge in 1971. Before joining the Military Court of Appeals, Darden was an aide to Sen. Richard B. Long.

Capitol Publications, Inc., has named John D. Wills president and chief executive officer. He succeeds Kenneth M. Callaway, who will continue to serve as chairman of the board.

Wills began his career with the company as a reporter. He has served as business manager for the past seven years and has been vice president for two.

Capitol also elected Emily Harris, Van R.H. Sterbergh and J. Philip Dismukes vice presidents.

Capitol publishes a variety of newsletters concerned with health and education.

American Finance Management Corp. has named Leonard Goldman vice president, counsel and corporate secretary. He comes to the Silver Spring company from General Instrument Corp. of New York where he was division counsel for five years.

Manor Care, Inc., has elected Eugene N. Langan vice president for development and president of the company's construction subsidiary, American Hospital Building.

Langan will be responsible for Manor Care's real estate and construction, in addition to overseeing all of American Hospital's activities. He joined American Hospital last year as director of real estate.

Judith Punghorst has been selected to be vice president of Boland Trane Associates, Inc., and Boland Trane Service Agency, Inc., both of Rockville. Punghorst began work with the franchise as a bookkeeper in 1969.

Rowe Furniture Corp. of Salem, Va., announced promotions in the company's Arlington office. Burton H. Kaplan is the new vice president for merchandizing and design and Harvey I. Ptashek is vice president for sales.

Wolk Press of Woodlawn, Md., has appointed Jay K. Goldscher vice president and director of sales for the Washington metropolitan market. He comes to the printing firm from George W. King Co. of Baltimore.

Bernard J. Buc has returned to Operations Research, Inc., of Silver Spring as vice president and director of programs for the resources analysis division.

Buc was a vice president and director of ORI's defense systems programs from 1971 to 1975. For the past two years, he has been deputy assistant secretary of defense for general purposes forces, program analysis and evaluation.

Washington Star chairman Joseph L. Allbritton announced that Jack Valenti has been elected to the Star's board of directors.

Valenti, now president of the Motion Picture Association of America, was a special assistant to President Johnson.

Marsh & McLennan, Inc., of New York has elected Gilbert E. Gannon senior vice president.

Gannon heads the insurance brokerage firm's Washington office. He was named vice president in 1970 and head of the office in 1972.

Investment Company Institute has elected David Silver president. He has been senior vice president and general counsel of the institute since 1975.

Thomas N. Downing, former congressman from the First district of Virginia, has been elected to the board of Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. of Virginia.

Bethlehem Steel Corp. has elected William W. Scranton to the board of directors. Scranton is former ambassador to the United Nations and former governor of Pennsylvania.

The Student Loan Marketing Association elected five new directors. They are: Raymond F. Bacchetti, vice provost for budget and planning, Stanford University; Donald S. Howard, senior vice president, Citicorp; Charles H. Miller, chairman, Dime Savings Bank of New York; Wilson W. Sick Jr., executive vice president, Bell & Howell Co., and David B. Truman, president, Mount Holyoke College.