Friday night to Thomas J. Owen, president and vice-chairman of perpetual Federal Savings and Loan Association, at the Washington Board of Realtors awards dinner.

Among the positions held by Owen are president of the Washington Board of Trade, director of the National Association of Realtors, president of the D.C. Kiwanis Club, director of the Metropolitan Board of Trade and director of the D.C. chapter of the American Red Cross.

A native of Washington and a resident of Kenwood, Md. Owen is currently a director of the Washington Gas Light Company and a member of the honorary fraternity of land economists, Lamda Alpha.

The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. a Washington-based publisher of specialized information services, has elected Hugh J. Yarrington to its board of directors as a vice president. Yarrington is currently general counsel and corporate secretary of BNA and a recognized authority on environmental law.

The Bank of Columbia, N.A. of Washington has named Bruce E. Covert senior vice president and senior loan officer. Covert and been with the State National Bank of Rockville, Md. for the past ten years, serving most recently as executive Vice President and senior commercial loan officer.

The board of directors of Garfinckles, Brooks Brothers, Miller and Rhoads, Inc. has elected Richard L. Leibeskind as a vice president of the corporation. Leibeskind also serves as president of Ann Taylor Inc., a contemporary clothing retailer, which was acquire by the Garfinckles' organization on Sept. 21.

Other appointments announced where: Stuart Kimball, vice president and treasurer: Elanor Burns, vice president (stores); Neal Tyler, vice president (merchandize control); Jackie Hayman, vice president (merchandizing): and Mimi Leibeskind, vice president (publicity and advertising).

The new custom awning division of The Shade Shop will be managed by Everett Russell, former owner and president of Capital Awning. The new division will specialize in awnings and canopies for both commercial and private use.

Executive positions at the Aluminum Association have been restaffed in conjuction with the organization's recent move from New York to Washington.

The eight new executive staff members hired by the association are: Reba C. Blackburn, Bookkeeper; Henry E. Cunningham, manager, information and education; Mindy L. Good, manager, information services; Richard M. Kelly, metallurgical engineer: Peter S. Lukasiak, communications associate; Samuel J. McCracken, manager, public relations; Harriet J. Rusk, chief statistician, and Ann D. Sutherland, communications associate.

The new vice president and managing director of the Shoreham Americana Hotel on Connecticut Avenue is Richard E. Abati, it was announced. Prior to his appointment, Abati was group vice president in charge of American hotels in Rochester, N.Y.; Albany, N.Y., and Cincinnati, Ohio, and has been with Americana subsidiaries since 1968.

Safeway Stores Inc. announced the election of Dale L. Lynch as president, chief operating officer and director of the supermarket chain. Lynch formerly served as a vice president and manager of Safeway's Northwest and Rocky Mountain regions. Lynch, who succeeds W.S. Mitchell as president, bypassed four senior vice presidents and five executive officers to receive the appointment.

Safeway also named three new directors. They are William H. Webster, president of Webster Land and Cattle Company and Webster Feedlots, Inc.; Brayton Wilbur, Jr., executive vice president and director of Wilbur-Ellis Company; and John F. Bookout, president and chief executive officer of shell Oil Company.