McLachlen National Bank has elected Harold Edward Tipton president, effective Dec. 1. He will succeed Thomas P. McLachlen, who will step up to be chairman of the board.

Tipton has been a director of McLachlen since 1973. He is former vice president and treasurer of People's Life Insurance Co. and has recently been on the administrative staff of George Mason University.

The Women's National Bank (In Organization) of Washington has named Emma J. Carrera executive vice president and cashier.

Carrera joines Women's National after serving as vice president and cashier of First Commercial Bank of Arlington. In her 18-year banking career, she has also been with Dominion National Bank of Falls Church and Peoples Bank and Trust Co. of Alexandria.

Northern Virginia Bank has promoted Robert E. Gray Jr. to senior vice president. Gray, who now heads the commercial loan department of the bank, joined it in 1965 and has served as manager of two branch offices.

Home Federal Savings and Loan Association of Washington announced a number of promotions and a reorganization of its operations.

General operations will be divided into three divisions. Senior vice presidents elected to head the divisions are Grant F. Boss, who will held up the loan division, Richard L. Coffman, who will take on the financial division in addition to his controller duties, and Elwyn G. Raiden Jr., who will be in charge of the customer services division.

Home Federal also promoted Doris M. Startt, who is in charge of the loan settlement and disbursement department, from secretary to vice president and promoted assistant VP James L. Dennis to vice president. He will continue to be in charge of data processing.

Vice president James E. Stout will assume the additional responsibilities of corporate secretary at the S&L and vice president Neil A. Crichton has been named to head the loan processing and servicing departments.

Riggs National Bank has elected four new vice presidents. They are William W. Campbell, William G. Hessler, Robert E. Kragh and Roy N. F. Powers.

Campbell joined Riggs in 1951 and has been in the comptroller's office for 15 years. He was named assistant vice president and deputy comptroller in 1973.

Hessler has been assistant VP and assistant manager of the bank's Watergate office for the past seven years.He will become manager of the 7th and I Sts. office on Jan. 1.

Kragh is also in the comptroller's office, having been promoted to as assistant vice president and deputy comptroller in 1976.

Powers has specialized in mortgage banking in the real estate operations department since 1958 and has been with Rigg since 1946.

Riggs also named vice president Clifton S. Sorrell Jr., to held up the bank's corporate cash management department. Sorrel joined Riggs in 1959.

County Federal Savings and Loan Association of Rockville has appointed Sam J. Pierce vice president and comptroller. Pierce was formerly with the accounting firm of Aaron, Roesen and Co. of Newport News.

American Security Bank has promoted Jerome R. Walton to vice president and senior trust investment officer. Walton joined American Security last April as manager of the trust investments research section.

American Security also promoted Michael F. Kelleher to vice president and trust investment officer. Kelleher joined the bank in 1970 as a security analyst.

Clark T. Madigan was named the bank's vice president for corporate banking. He comes to American Security from the Arlington Trust Co. of Arlington, Mass.

Bankers Security Life Insurance Society has elected Henry G. Stifel to the board. Stifel is chairman and president of Armotek Industries of New Jersey.

Annapolis Federal Savings and Loan Association has elected two new directors. They are Dr. Aris T. Allen, an Annapolis physician and state Republican party official, and Louise M. Deale, vice president, corporate secretary and secretary to the president of the association.