The highest single award in the life and health insurance field in the Washington area, the Bernard L. Wilner Memorial Award, was presented to Thelma R. Davenport, CLU, of Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co. Davenport is the 32nd recipient of the prestigious award, which honors the life underwriter who best exemplifies adherence to the principles of trusteeship.

Davenport began her career in life insurance in 1942 with Northwestern Mutual after several years in the company's Washington Agency Service and Sales Promotion department. She is a Life and Qualifying member of the Women Leaders Round Table of the National Association of Life Underwriters and a recipient of the group's National Quality Award.

Among the several positions Davenport has held are: president of the D.C. Business and Professional Women's Federation and insurance and investment chairperson of the D.C. Federation of Women's Clubs. She currently serves on the board of directors of the District of Columbia Association and as chairperson of its Committee on Relations with Other Professions.

Vice president and general manager of C and P Telephone, Ralph W. Frey, was named to the board of directors of Capital City Federal Savings and Loan Association. Frey has been associated with the Bell System for the past 36 years. He currently serves on the executive committe of the Metropolitan Washington Board of Trade.

Joseph M. Cardaci has been appointed president and a director and Norman Fisher, Jr. has been named assistant vice president of Permanent Insurance Agency, Inc., a subsidiary of Permanent Financial Corp, the service corporation of National Permanent Federal Savings and Loan Association.

Cardaci has been with National Permanent since 1967, becoming executive vice president of the subsidiary in 1971. Fisher jointed the agency in 1976 as service representative for life and health underwriting.

William W. Rauschelback, manager of the Golden Ox Restaurant, was recently elected president of the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington. He was formerly vice president of the association and succeeds John E. Faracias.

Four senior officers at First Virginia Bank were promoted recently. The executives and their new titles are; Robert H. Zalokar, president and chief executive officer; John T. Baker, executive vice president, administration and branch operations; Shirely C. Beavers, Jr., senior vice president, operations; and Paul Lanzillotta, executive vice president, trusts.

Zalokar has been president and chief administrative officer of First Virginia since 1974. Baker has 10 years of service with the bank, most recently as senior vice president. Lazillotta has 15 years experience with the bank and has headed its trust department since 1969. Beavers joined the bank in 1967 and was elevated to the post of vice president in charge of the account reference center in 1974.

Alexandria National Bank of Northern Virginia announced the promotion of Charles A. Theisen to vice president and personnel officer. Theisen served for three years as personnel officer of the bank before his promotion.

Edward A. Crooke has been elected vice president, finance and accounting, and secretary of the Baltimore Gas and Electric Co. He succeeds John E. Taulbee who resigned to accept the position of executive vice president and a director of the Central and South West Corp.

Crooke joined Baltimore Gas and Electric in 1968 and was appointed assistant secretary and assistant treasurer in January.

The board of governors of the Federal Reserve System has appointed Sidney L. Jones as an assistant to the board. Jones served as Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy in the Treasury Department from 1974 to 1977. He is currently a Fellow at the Smithsonian Institution's Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

Metropolitan Federal Savings and Loan Association of Bethesda announced the election of Robert J. McCarthy, Jr. to executive vice president-controller and F. Hugh Collins to internal auditor. McCarthy has been with Metropolitan since 1968 after a year and a half with Ernst and Ernst in Baltimore. Collins joined the staff of the association in 1976.

Wallace J. Campbell, a private business consultant to the District of Columbia National Bank, has been named president of CARE. Campbell was chairman of the organizing committee when CARE was incorportated. Since then he has served as a director and then as an officer. His last position was senior vice president and treasurer.