The Washington Area Convention & Visitors Association has selected Theodore R. Hagans Jr., president of the Fort Lincoln New Town Corp., as its 1979 president, succeeding Andrew Ockershausen, executive vice president of WMAL Incl.

Hagans served as first vice president of the association last year and was give the Washingtonian magazine's "Man of the Year" award in 1977.

Hagans serves on the boards of Potomac Electric & Power Co., the D.C. Chamber of Commerce, the D.C. Builders Association and the Washington Board of Trade. He is also chairman of the board of the Greater Washington Business Center and heads the Mayor's Inaugural Committee.

David W. Rutstein has been named vice president-general counsel for Giant Food Inc.

Rutstein comes to Giant from the law firm of Danzansky, Dickey, Tydings, Quint and Gordon, where he has worked since 1970. He became a partner of the firm in 1976.

Donald D. Moyer, director of economic and community development for the State of West Virginia, has been named director of the Economic Development Council of the Greater Baltimore Committee, a Balitmore business group.

Moyer served as vice president of Dayton-Hudson Corp., a Detroit-based retailing firm, before he was picked by West Virginia Gov. D. Rockefeller IV to head the state development council.

Thomas J. House has been named general counsel of the National Association of Manufacturers, succeeding Richard D. Godown, who recently joined the Washington office of the Business Roundtable.

Houser served as a member of the Federal Communication Commission in 1971, concentrating on broadcasting, cable, telephone and satellite issues. In 197, he was appointed director of the Office of Telecommunications Policy, serving as chief telecommunications adviser to the president.

John R. Marchant has resigned as a director of Garfinckel, Brooks Brothers, Miller & Rhoads Inc. for personal reasons. He retired as chairman of the Miller & Rhoads division of the comapny on Nov. 1.

William Morris has been promoted to general counsel for the Senate Finance Committee.

Morris has been the committee's tax counsel and will assume his new duties on Jan. 1. He came to the committee staff six years ago after serving with the Internal Revenue Service and U.S. Tax Court.

Marriott Corp. has named Douglas W. Craig vice president for its business and educational services division. Frank W. Johnson has been appointed national sales manager for Marriott Hotels.

Craig joined Marriott in 1977 as vice president of administration, food service management division. Johnson was previously director of sales at the Atlanta Marriott Hotel.

Charlie H. Johns has been promoted to executive vice president and Thomas C. Dorsey has been named vice president and general counsel of the American Short Line Railroad Association.

Johns joined the association in 1969 as general counsel after serving with the Interstate Commerce Commission. He was most recently vice president-secretary and general counsel for the association.

Dorsey has been affiliated with the association since 1975, serving most recently as assistant general counsel. Prior to that, he worked at the Interstate Commerce Commission in a number of capacities, including special assistant to a commission and legislative counsel.

Lee Palmer, owner of the Old Club Restaurant in Alexandria, has been named president of the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington, succeeding William Rauschelback.