President Carter is nominating Lawrence Connell Jr. to the board of the National Credit Union Administration for a six-year term.

If confirmed, Connell will be chairman, the White House said.

Since 1977, Connell has served as administrator of the NCUA, also a Carter appointment. Before that, Cornell was Connecticut bank commissioner and served on the governor's commission to study a uniform consumer credit code.

Connell has been secretary of the Hartford National Corp., an officer and director of a number of its subsidiaries, and served in the office of the U.S. Comptroller of the Currency from 1958 to 1968.

Retiring chairman and chief executive officer of American Telephone & Telegraph, John D. deButts, has been appointed to board of directors of the Wolf Trap Foundation.

Also elected were Ward Chamberlin, president of WETA; Mrs. John C. Danforth, wife of Sen. Danforth, from Missouri; John W. Dixon, chairman of the board and president of E-Systems of Dallas; Mrs. William P. Hobby, wife of the lieutenant governor of Texas, and Donald McGannon, chairman and president of the Westinghouse Broadcasting Co.

The Industrial Bank of Washington recently announced these promotions: J. Jay Nickens Jr., senior vice president and cashier; Massie S. Fleming: senior vice president, and Draper A. Pagan, vice president and branch administrator.

Nickens joined Industrial Bank in 1972 as vice president and senior loan officer. Since April 1976, he has supervised the bank's accounting.

Fleming came to the bank in 1951. She has served as a bookkeeper, note teller and since 1967, as assistant to the president.

Pagan has been with Industrial since 1950. He has been a bookkeeper, head bookkeeper, note teller and auto loan officer. He is manager of the main office, bank security officer and vice president since 1969.