The United States Postal Service has named Nancy L. George to the position of assistant postmaster general for employe relations, the highest position ever held by a woman in the Postal Service.

George joined the service in 1966 as an administrative assistant in the postal inspection service. She subsequently served as the Inspection Service's personnel officer, manager of its administrative branch, assistant chief inspector for the western region and officer-in-charge of the Salt Lake City Management Sectional Center, before being named assistant chief postal inspector for administration in 1975.

Philip Hogue has been appointed vice president of government affairs for the Airline Passengers Association and will head the group's new Washington office. Before joining the APA, Hogue was a member of the National Transportation Safety Board.

Prior to being appointed to the safety board by President Ford, Hogue served as deputy chief of the office of operations of the U.S. Coast Guard.

John Panagos, publisher of the Gaithersburg Gazette and former president of the Advertising Club of Metropolitan Washington, recently was awarded the second District Advertising Federation Silver Medal in recognition of his service to the community and to advertising.

Panagos is responsible for changing the Gazette from a twice monthly to a weekly community newspaper with a circulation of 35,000. He also started the first Latin radio station in the area, WFAN-FM. He has served as executive vice president of United Broadcasting Co. and general manager of radio stations WOOK and WINX.

Albert D. Nemecek, Ronald E. Ruberti and Harold S. Trimmer Jr. have been elected corporate vice presidents at Garfinckel, Brooks Brothers, Miller & Rhoads Inc. Trimmer also was named general counsel.

Nemecek has been treasurer of the company since 1976, a position he will retain. He came to Garfinckel in 1969 as director of tax and insurance services and was elected secretary in 1972.

Ruberti joined Garfinckel's in 1974 as internal auditor. He later was named controller, a position he will retain.

Trimmer joined the company in 1975 as corporate counsel and was elected secretary in 1976. He will stay on as secretary in addition to his new duties.

John R. Martin has been elected president of the National Association of Railroad Passengers.

Martin is an attorney with 19 years of experience in patent, energy and environmental law. He has served on the association's board of directors since 1974 and was chairman of the board's route study committee and a member of the executive committee.

The board of directors of International Bank has elected James W. Wine to the position of senior vice president-merchant banking and also named him to the Council of Presidents.

Wine, a lawyer and diplomat, served as the U.S. Ambassador to Luxembourg and the Republic of the Ivory Coast. He also served as special assistant to the secretary of state. Wine has been a member of the board of International Bank since 1978.

Marshall Hilsberg has been appointed executive vice president-marketing for Hecht's. He was previously senior vice president-sales promotion and marketing, a position he assumed in 1978. Hilsberg joined the company in 1973 as a divisional merchandise manager.

Charles L. Cansler has been promoted to treasurer of Hazleton Laboratories Corp. He has been with the company three years and was previously with Fuqua Industries of Atlanta.

Norman W. Kamerow has been elected president of the 1,000 member District of Columbia Life Underwriters Association.

Texas International Airlines has made several top level management changes.

Donald C. Burr, formerly executive vice president and chief operating officer was elected president of the Houston-based carrier. He will retain his position as chief operating officer.

Named vice chairman, a new post, was Robert J. Carner, formerly executive vice president.

Promoted to senior vice president were Edwin J. Cathell and Gerald L. Gitner.

Jean Roche and Jeanie Walls Henry have been named vice presidents of Ferris & Co. Inc.

Roche joined Ferris in 1971 as a registered representative. Before that he was a colonel in the U.S. Air Force.

Henry came to Ferris in 1976 as a registered representative. She previously was an officer with Clarendon Bank & Trust Co., now First American Bank of Virginia.

Ferris also announced the appointments of James Tighe as manager of its new office in McLean and Peter L. Hilgartner as resident vice president.

Richard W. Carroll has been elected vice president of the Western division of Virginia Electric and Power Co. He succeeds C. S. Betts Jr., who is retiring June 30.

Carroll joined Vepco in 1946 as a junior engineer. Prior to his current position as Northern division staff manager, he served as division manager and district manager in Alexandria and area manager in Fairfax. CAPTION: Picture 1, JAMES W. WINE; Picture 2, JOHN PANAGOS; Picture 3, JEANIE WALLS HENRY; Picture 4, MARSHALL HILSBERG