Bensons Jewelers, one of Washington's oldest and largest jewelers, has elected Ben Stein as chairman of the board and Paul M. Stein as president and chief operating officer.

Ben Stein founded Bensons and has served as its president since 1939. He is also a founder and director of the Washington Credit Bureau.

Paul Stein joined Bensons in 1962 as a store manager. In 1967 he was elected vice president of the firm.

Bensons, located at 1319 F St. NW, still operates its own goldsmith shop and gem lab for the appraisal and identification of jewelry.

Dr. John L. McLucas, executive vice president of international communications and technical services for Communications Satellite Corp. (Comsat), has been elected chairman of the board of the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association.

Robert Woodbridge has been elected president and Larry Goldstein has been elected vice president of Berger/Berman Builders Inc. of Rockville.

Dr. Ben E. Laden, vice president and chief economist of T. Rowe Price Associates Inc., has been elected president of the Baltimore Economic Society.

Lewis E. S. Parker has been elected president of Hazleton Laboratories America of Vienna, succeeding Kenneth E. Burbach.

Bob Irvin has been named executive director of the Petroleum Council of Maryland, succeeding Samuel F. McCully.

John Broughan has been named president of Group Travel Unlimited Inc., Washington's largest travel frim involved with overseas conventions and meetings. David A.Randall was named chief executive officer of the firm.

Allen S. Hammond, formerly program manager for the minority telecommunications development program of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration in the U.S. Department of Commerce, has been named general counsel for WJLA-TV.