The Vitro Laboratories division of Automation Industries, Inc. announced that Robert C. Gormley will become president of Vitro this Wednesday. He succeeds Wayne G. Shaffer.

Gormley joined Vitro in 1957 as a contracts negotiator and later became chief of the contracts department. In 1963 he was promoted to business manager. Prior to joining Vitro, Gormley served in the U.S. Coast Guard and worked for the Office of Naval Intelligence.

Gormley is a member of the Maryland Bar and the Federal Bar Association and recently was elected Maryland Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

In addition Vitro elected Edward T. Vilas to vice president for operations, George K. Krikorian to vice president for management, and appointed Raymond F. Carlin to the newly created post of vice president for administration.

Robert C. Gooding, USN (ret.), was elected chairman of the board of Columbia Research Corp.

William R. T. Oakes has been elected president and chief executive officer of Kappa Systems Inc. of Arlington.

M. S. Cagen has been appointed president of PCL Development Co.

Alvin Q. Ehrlich has been elected chairman and Nella C. Manes has been elected president of the Washington-based public relations agency of Ehrlich-Manes & Associates Inc.

Mervin E. Dullum has been named vice president for government affairs of Delta Air Lines.

T. Hammond Welsh has been elected chairman of the board of Maryland Federal Savings and Loan Association.

Dorothy Kerr was elected president of the Advertising Club of Metropolitan Washington. Kerr, president of Dorothy Kerr & Associates, is the first woman president of the Advertising Club. Other officers elected were Jim Boaz, first vice president; Web Chamberlin, second vice president; Jack Horner, secretary; and Mike Gloster, treasurer.

Lynnette Dobbins Taylor has been elected to the board of Jefferson Federal Savings and Loan Association. CAPTION: Picture, Alvin J. Boutte is president of Independence Bank of Chicago, the nation's largest black-owned bank. AP