After more than two weeks of struggle to find an acceptable, willing group of public and business members for the administration's new pay advisory committee, a list of names was to be sent to President Carter last night, little more than 24 hours before the group's first meeting.

The members may be announced today since the first meeting of the committee is slated for 10 a.m. Wednesday.

Meanwhile, administration sources said, important questions remain unresolved about the committee's role in setting and determining compliance with the pay standards in the non-union parts of the economy.

The size of the committee has been expanded from 15 to 18 members to accommodate a sixth representative from labor, John Lyons of the Bridge and Structural Iron Workers.

Lyons will be speaking for the building trades, who were insistent that they have their own man on the committee.

The other labor members are Lane Kirkland, secretary treasurer of the AFL-CIO; Douglas Fraser, president of the United Auto Workers; Frank Fitzsimmons, president of the Teamsters; Lloyd McBride, president of the United Steelworkers; and William Wynn, president of the United Food and Commerical Workers.

Originally, White House officials had hoped to propose a full slate of names to Carter on Oct. 5 and to have them announced early last week.

From the beginning, however, a number of business leaders endorsed the idea of a tripartite committee but declined to serve. Among them were Thomas Murphy, chairman of General Motors, Irving Shapiro, chairman of Du Pont, and Reginald Jones, chairman of General Electric.

That trio suggested the idea of a committee to Treasury Secretary G. William Miller, labor sources said. Labor and the administration had been discussing a similar proposal. Later after several weeks of negotiations, Kirkland and other labor leaders agreed to participate. The businessmen then declined to serve on the committee giving a variety of reasons for their decisions.

John Dunlop of Harvard University, a former secretary of Labor and highly respected mediator, will head the pay advisory committee in the beginning.