Chessie System Inc. has elected John S. Lanahan senior vice president. Lanahan is president of the White Sulphur Springs Co., which operates The Greenbrier Hotel in West Virginia. He will continue as president and chief executive officer of The Greenbrier, a Chessie subsidiary.

Before joining The Greenbrier five years ago, Lanahan was executive vice president and chief operating officer for Braniff International Hotels in Dallas.

Lawrence H. Berul, formerly senior vice president of Aspen Systems Corp. of Germantown, has formed the consulting firm of Berul Associates Ltd., which will be based in Rockville.

Francis X. Knott, president of The Arundel Corp., has been elected to the board of directors of Maryland National Corp. He also was elected a director of the corporation's principal subsidiary, Maryland National Bank.

John Reistrup has been named editor-in-chief of the Calgary Albertan. Reistrup is a former head of the Office of Consumer Affairs with the U.S. rDepartment of Transportation. He has worked on The Washington Post, the New York Post and the Toronto Star.

Gregory J. Friess has been named vice president for operations for Colonial Village Inc.

Washington Federal Savings and Loan Association has elected Rudolph Flythe to its board of directors and elected Howard D. Orebaugh as president of Washington Permanent Service Corp.

Jean Pierce, assistant controller for credit and collections of the Washington Post, has been elected president of the Advertising Media Credit Executives Association.

Dean A. Smith has been named national sales manager for Alcolac Inc. of Baltimore.

W. Edward Wotring has been promoted to vice president of data processing and David N. David has been named corporate manager of business strategies for Best Products Co.

Morton Siegenfeld has been appointed corporate vice president/stores for Woodward & Lothrop Inc.

Alan M. Pollock has been named director of public affairs for the Civil Aeronautics Board.

Timothy J. May has joined Hugh T. Peck Properties Inc. as assistant vice president of administration.

Herbert Morrow Jr., general manager of Editors Press, has been elected president of Printing Industry of Metropolitan Washington Inc.

Robert C. Short has been elected a vice president of Columbia Federal Savings and Loan Association.

George K. Eliades has been elected president of the Washington Society of Association Executives. He previously held the positions of secretary, treasurer and president-elect of the association, and is president of the Society of American Wood Preservers Inc. In addition, David C. Fullarton, Dolores J. Harrington and Frank B. Hignett were elected to the board of directors.