The United States League of Savings Associations has elected Edwin B. Brooks Jr. as its president for the next year.Brooks is president of Security Federal Savings and Loan Association of Richmond.

Brooks has been vice chairman of the league's Legislative Policy Committee and the Legislative Committee. He has served as president of Security Federal since it's founding in 1954. He had been president and director of the Virginia Savings and Loan League.

The league has elected William B. O'Connell as executive vice president.

O'Connell will divide his time between the parent office in Chicago and the Washington office.

Joseph D. Minutille has been elected president and chief operating officer of Commercial Credit Co. of Baltimore.

Israel Cohen, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Giant Food Inc., has been elected to the board of the Food Marketing Institute.

Richard J. Walters has been promoted to president of Martin Marietta Data Systems, succeeding the late Barry D. Rowe.

Robert F. Potter has been named a marketing director for manufactured products and services of United Nuclear Corp.

Anthony J. Spielman, vice president and executive director of Waters Travel Service, recently received the Joseph W. Rosenbluth Memorial Award, an annual award given by the American Society of Travel Agents to the agent who has made the greatest contribution to the travel industry.

Morris H. Bortnick has been named senior vice president for professional services and Donald R. Buchanan has been named senior vice president for data processing for Giant Food Inc.

P. A. Mack and Harold A. Black have been sworn in as members of the National Credit Union Administration.

David Yeres has been appointed counsel to the chairman and Robert H. Joost has been named judicial administrator of the Office of Hearings and Appeals, Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

Charles U. Rosemann has been appointed manager of the Sheraton-Park Hotel.

Lowell H. Goodhue has been recognized as a fellow in the field of production and inventory control of the American Production and Inventry Control Society.

Michael R. Mueller has been named assistant to the president of the Howard Research and Development Corp. HRD is developing the new city of Columbia, Md.

Three appointments at the Washington Federal Savings and Loan association have been announced. Gary R. Davies was elected to the board of directors, Jill J. Price was promoted to vice president, loan servicing, and Michael A. Kloak was named vice president.

Angie Harcum has been appointed branch manager of the new Balitmore Federal Savings and Loan office in Glen Burnie.

Life of Virginia has added two new representatives, Robert J. Milko and Steward S. Hughes.

Bruce Mazza Langmaid has joined the commerical sales staff of Holland & Lyons.

Warren H. Hammer has been appointed assistant vice president of Dynalectron in addition to his duties as director of public/shareholder relations for the firm.

James J. Aylor has joined the L. J. Robert Co. as the director of new home sales.

Glenn L. Yammarino has been named vice president of operations for the legal information services division of Informatics Inc.