National Permanent Federal Savings and Loan Association President Edgar F. Peterson has been elected to the board of directors of the United States League of Savings Associations. Peterson will serve a three-year term and will represent savings associations throughout Washington.

Peter Treadway, chief economist of the Federal National Mortgage Association, has been elected a vice president of the corporation.

Barton F. Walker Jr. has been named director of international programs for Fairchild Industries.

John W. Newman has been appointed director of sales and marketing for Classic Corp. of Jessup.

Dr. Frank S. Royal has been elected to the board of directors of United Virginia Bankshares Inc.

Stanley H. Johnson has been promoted to sales manager at the Prudential Insurance Co.'s Washington office.

Dennis B. Heffernan has been elected a director of the Penril Corp. of Rockville.

John C. Bard has been appointed vice president of International Bank of Washington.

Robert Johnson has been elected president of Arlington-Fairfax Savings and Loan Association. Also promoted was William Borcherding to the position of executive vice president.

B. Larry Jenkins, president and chief executive officer of The Home Life Insurance Co. of America, has been elected chairman of the D.C.-based life insurance firm.

Anthony M. Domenico of Acacia Mutual Life Insurance Co., has been selected by the Prince Georges Life Underwriters Association as Agent of the Year.

James F. Keegan, executive vice president of Morgan, Keegan & Co. of Memphis, Tenn., has been elected 1980 chairman of the board of governors of the National Association of Securities Dealers Inc.