The American Chemical Society has elected James D. D'Ianni as its new president. He succeeds Gardner W. Stacy, who will remain on the board of directors.

D'Ianni is former director of research at Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. He is an authority on synthetic rubber and directed research that led to widely used foam and adhesive products. He has been a member of the society since 1934, serving as chairman of the Akron section in 1952-53.

D'Ianni joined Goodyear in 1938 and served as director of research from 1966 to 1977. He is a holder or co-holder of 17 patents and author or co-author of 50 scientific articles.

David B. Bowes, former editor of Cincinnati Queen City magazine and former associate editior of the Cincinnati Post, has been named director of creative services for the National Association of Manfacturers.

Sidney A. Levy, vice president of Norman Berstein Management Inc., has been named Property Manager of the Year by the Greater Metroplitan chapter of the Institute of Real Estate Management.

Mitch Wald has been promted to general manager of the Skyline Racquet and Health Club.

Robert E. Nelson has been appointed director of business development for the technical services group of Dynalectron Corp.

Thomas B. Cohn has joned Bachner Communication Inc. as an account executive.

James M. Mumma has been elected president of Rouse Insurance Inc.

Sandra Wade has been promted to an account supervisor at Henry J. Kaufman & Associates Inc.

James M. O'Neill, general manager of Western Electric Co.s Baltimore works, has been named a director of Mercantile Bankshares Corp. and its largest affiliate, Mercantile Safe Deposit and Trust Co.

Irene Hunsicker has been named marketing director of Montgomery Mall.

E. Kingdon Hurlock Jr. has been promoted to vice president of Redwood Capital Management Inc., a subsidiary of Maryland National Corp.

The Virginia Electric and Power Co. has named William W. Berry to the company's Office of the Chief Executive. Berry is executive vice president for staff. In addition, Jack H. Ferguson was elected executive vice president for power, and W. L. Proffitt was named senior vice president for commercial operations.

Alan L. Farkas has been elected a vice president of Booz, Allen & Hamiliton.

Paul J. Coughlin Jr., has been elected vice president for Washington affairs for Union Pacific Corp.

Jann Alexander has been appoointed an art director for Weitzman, Dym & Associates.

Thomas J. Dougherty has been appointed vice president and associate general counsel for Metromedia Inc.

Dr. Kent Mountford has been named manager of the Aquatic Toxicology Laboratory of Biospherics Inc.

Marvin L Esch has resigned as director of public affairs for United States Steel Corp. effective Jan. 1. He will start his own consulting firm.

Angie Harcum has been named manager of Baltimore Federal Savings & Loan Association's Glen Burnie office.

Philip K. Eichelberger, president of The Hilbert Optical Co. Inc. of Baltimore, has been elected president of the Optical Laboratories Association.

Donald N. Belote, vice prsident of Weavers Brother Inc., has been elected president of the Virginia Mortgage Bankers Association.

John W. Boyle has been elected a vice chairman of The May Department Stores Co., parent company of Hecht's.

Gene Fields has been named president and chief executive officer of the newspaper division of allbritton Communications Co.

The bank of Maryland recently announced the follwoing promotions: Lawrence Fowler, vice president and assistant operations officer; Ronald Richards, vice preisient, marketing officer and assistant branch administrator; W. Donald Armiger, assistant vice president and purchasing officer; Marilyn M. Bryant, assistant vice president and corporate secretary; Newton James, assistant vice president; E. G. Shaffer, assistant vice presidentf Brian McClinton, assistant treasurer; and Daniel Newton, asistant treasurer.