The board of directors of the Perpetual Federal Savings and Loan Association has announced the appointments of William S. Harps as chairman of the Executive Committee and Gilbert E. DeLorme Jr. as general counsel.

Harps is first vice president of John R. Pinkett Inc. and has been a Perpetual board member since 1970. He was elected to the Executive Committee in 1971 and serves on several other Perpetual committes.

DeLorme, who also serves as secretary of Perpetual, joined the association in 1979 as the associate general counsel. He is a member of the D.C. Bar Association.

John J. Mallon Jr. has been appointed administrator of Children's Hospital National Medical Center, succeeding Noel E. Kroncke who assumed the position of president of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia.

John Agreenwald has been appointd editorial director for all five of the regional Journal newspapers (Alexandria, Arlington, Fairfax, Montgomery and Prince George's).

Ralph F. Ebbenhouse has been appointed assistant vice president and installment loan officer at Century National Bank.

Earl F. Hord, executive vice president of the Dollar Savings Bank of Pittsburgh, has been named a deputy assistant secretary at the Economic Development Administration to head the agency's business loan and loan guarantee program.

Boisfeuillet Jones Jr. has been appointed vice president and counsel of The Washington Post. Jones was an attorney specializing in litigation with the law firm of Hill and Barlow in Boston before coming to The Post.

Several promotions and transitions have been made recently at the Bank of Bethesda. John A. Shaw was promoted to senior vice president, responsible for credit administration. Robert M. Matusek was promoted to vice president and treasurer in charge of the operations division of the bank. Barbara A. Anderson, Cornelia F. Clinger and Robert F. O'Donnel were elected assistant vice presidents of the bank.

George M. Brady, president of the National Corporation for Housing Partnerships, has been appointed to the additional post of chief executive officer. He succeeds George W. DeFranceaux, who will remain with the corporation as the chairman of the board.

Steven N. Lewis has been named vice president in the Washington office of William M. Mercer Inc., the nation's largest employe benefits consulting firms.

Aneita M. Roberts has been named state director for Washington of the American Association of Retired Persons. She will be responsible for coordinating the activities of AARP chapters in the city.

Glenn F. Bakken has advanced to president of Kennecott Copper Corp. He formerly was executive vice president.

Theodore Sonde has been chosen by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission to become director of enforcement, succeeding Sheila S. Hollis, who resigned Jan. 1.

Thomas Lamb, job superintendent of Donohoe Construction Co., has been named the 1979 Outstanding Job Superintendent by the D.C. Metropolitan Subcontractors Association.

Clarence J. Galligan has been appointed general manager of the office furniture mart division of Stern Office Furniture.

Angela McConnel has been appointed branch manager of the Rockville Temporaries Inc. office. McConnell is a 1975 graduate of Howard University.

Robert Bernstein has been appointed senior partner to the Washington office of the national accounting firm, Seidman & Seidman. He is the co-founder of the firm of Bernstein, Mintz & Armbruster, which merged with Seidman & Seidman in 1969 to become the Washington office of that company.

Joel M. Orenstein has been appointed vice president and general manager for the Industrial Properties Group of Arthur Rubloff of Washington. He is the former vice president of Arthur Rubloff & Co. of California.