Rebecca K. Leet has been named director of education and communication for the Wilderness Society, the nonprofit organization devoted to preserving wildlife and wilderness lands in America.

William O. Miller of Rockville has been elected second vice president of Toastmasters International, a nonprofit educational organization aiding in the improvement of public speaking skills.

Hubert Harris, formerly assistant director of the Office of Management and Budget in charge of legislative affairs in the Carter adminstration, has been named executive vice president of Associated Builders and Contractors Inc.

Lynda Schuerman of Lehman's Tire Co. of Washington has been elected to the board of directors of the National Tire Dealers and Retreaders Association.

Laura Walsh has been appointed director of public affairs for the National Furniture Warehouseman's Association. She will be responsible for designing and implementing the association's communications program. Mary Jane Kolar will become director of education for NFWA, responsible for the development the group's educational strategy and training programs. James G. Kerkam has been appointed director of administration of NFWA. He will direct the membership program and the annual meeting.

Betty L. DeWitt, assistant vice president of Union Trust Co. of Maryland, is the new chairwoman of the Baltimore Group of the National Association of Bank Women Inc. DeWitt is currently branch manager of the bank's Montgomery Center office in Silver Spring.

Eugene I. Kane, president of E.I. Kane Inc., a Baltimore-based trucking company, has been elected chairman of the American Trucking Associations Inc.