L. C. Peterson, president of Kirkpatrick, Pettis, Smith, Polian Inc. of Omaha, Neb., has been elected chairman of the board of governors of the National Association of Securities Dealers Inc. The NASD is the self-regulatory organization for the Over-the-Counter stock market.

William L. Pierce, formerly assistant executive director of the child Welfare League of America Inc. and director of its Washington office, has been named president and chief executive officer of the National Committee For Adoption, a non-profit membership organization for adoption agencies. Candace P. Mueller was appointed director for public policy and professional practice and Jo Ann Walton was named assistant for the president.

Mortimer B. Doyle, chairman and chief executive officer of the International Snowmobile Association, has been elected chairman of the American Society of Association Executives.

Robert N. Santoni Sr. of Santoni's Markets in Baltimore, has been elected chairman of the Mid-Atlantic Food Dealers Association, successor organization to the Maryland Food Dealers Association.

Catherine A. Allen has been elected president of the Metropolitan Washington chapter of the American Marketing Association. Allen is an assistant professor of marketing at the American University's Kogod College of Business Administration.

Thimas L. Oneto has resigned as vice president of operations for the National Air Transportation Association to join the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association as a plannng officer.

Michael Koleda has been appointed executive director of the National Council on Synthetic Fuels Production, a trade organization representing private energy companies active in synfuels development. Koleda had been director of the President's Coal Commission.

Justin Pestana Jr., general manager of the J.P. Chemical Co. of Amherst, N.H., has been elected president of the National Pest Control Association.