John Haven Champman has been appointed vice president and general counsel of the Computer & Communications Industry Association.

Allen T. Smith, vice president of Muzak in Washington, has been elected president of the International Planned Music Association.

Gus Ladas, owner of the Sea Catch Restaurant and the Roundtable, has been elected president of the Restaurant Association of Metroplolitan Washington.

Walter B. Wriston, chairman and chief executive officer of Citicorp, has been elected chairman of The Business Council. He succeeds Reginald H. Jones, chairman of General Electric Co. Elected vice chairmen were: Charles L. Brown, chairman of American Telephone & Telegraph co.; Ruben F. Mettler, chairman of TRW Inc.; Donald V. Seibert, chairman of J.C. Penney Co.; and T. A. Wilson, chairman of the Boeing Co. The Business Council is a private organization of present and former heads of U.S. corporations. Members meet quarterly to discuss public policy and economic issues with top officials of governement and specialists in other fields to help find solutions to national problems.

Billie A. Vines-Sondberg has been named executive director of the National Asphalt Pavenment Association.

William R. Moroney has been elected president of the Electronic Funds Transfer Association.

Jerry Davis has been named general manager of the National Office Products Association.

Thomas a. Allegretti has been named director of domestic waterways for the Transportation Institute.

William H. Atkinson, security officer/assistant vice president of Perpetual American Federal Savings and Loan Association, has been appointed to the 1981 insurance and protective committee of the United States League of Savings Associations.

Richard P. Kuchnicki has been appointed excutive director of the Council of American Building Officials.

Bernard M. Fliger has been named director of member services for the National Furniture Warehousemen's Association.

Gilbert Illch of Aero Chevrolet in Alexandria has been elected to the 1981 Chevrolet Dealer Council for the Washington zone. The Washington zone includes 100 dealers in the District, Maryland, Virginia, Delaware and West Virginia.

W.H. Banks, president of Chevron Shipping Co. of san Francisco, has been elected chairman of the American Institute of Merchant Shipping.

Rebecca S. Newsome has been appointed director of purchasing for the Fairfax Hospital Association.

A. Denny Ellerman, former deputy assistant secretary for policy analysis at the Department of Energy, has been promoted to vice president of the National Coal Association. He will be responsible for directing the association's policy and analysis group.

Susan Perry has joined the American Bus Association as director of government affairs. She previously was director of government affairs for the American Public Transit Association.

Ronald R. Rumbaugh, executive vice president of the Urban Land Institute, has been elected president of the National Association of Executives Club.

Debra J. Stratton has been named editor and publisher of Association Management and Leadership magazines. Both magazines are published by the American Society of Association Executives.