Seven new members have been appointed to the National Bank of Washington's board of advisers. They are: William A. Clement Jr., president of Dobbs Corp. and former assistant administrator of the U.S. Small Business Administration; William H. Cooper, M.D., clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the George Washington University School of Medicine; W. Bowman Cutter, partner in the accounting firm of Coopers & Lybrand and former executive associate director for budget at the Office of Management and Budget; David P. Mullen, president, chief operating officer and a director of Woodward & Lothrop; Robert L. Quinichett, president of Sterling Systems Inc.; Frank H. Rich, president of Rich's Shoe Stores; and Thomas K. Zaucha, president of chief executive officer of the Cooperative Food Distributors of America.

Stephen H. Detwiler has been promoted to senior vice president and marketing officer of First Federal Savings & Loan Association of Arlington. Detwiler joined First Federal in 1975.

Kathleen J. Wichern has been elected senior vice president, chief financial officer and treasurer of Government Employees Financial Corp., a subsidiary of Geico Corp. John J. Krieger joined the Denver-based consumer finance and industrial banking firm as senior vice president with responsibilities for administrative services, thrift and insurance programs.

Citzens Bank & Trust Co. of Maryland has promoted 10 officers. Named as assistant vice presidents were Richard A. Adamson Jr. and Leslie M. Thomas Jr. Promoted to assistant treasurers were Margaret V. Flynn, Richard C. Grimm, Douglas A. Gross, Deborah K. Robinson, Malden David Waite Jr., Thomas O. Herman, John C. Dowdy, and Edwin L. Lamont.

As a result of its recent merger with Northwestern Federal Savings, Capital City Federal Savings has made several promotions. Named executive vice president was Franklin D. Coburn. Named senior vice presidents were David G. Burton and G. Thomas Dudley. Promoted to vice presidents were William B. Conrad, Ronald J. Brooks, and Francis J. Preller. Nancy J. Frole was named coporate secretary. Named as assistant vice presidents were Frank M. McDonald, Carl A. Polvinale, Patricia Morton, Nancy Rivers, and Steve Husted. Richard A. Duffy was appointed assistant controller. Ronald Rose, Hugh Jones and Debra Fenton were named branch managers.

Thomas K. Zaucha, president of Cooperative Food Distributors of America, has been elected to the board of advisors of the National Bank of Washington.

Stuart J. Bell has been elected executive vice president/secretary and chief operating officer of Vienna. He was also elected to the board of directors. Howard J. Burton was named vice president, loans department and Richard H. Tubbs Jr. was appointed marketing manager.