James E. Murray has been named president of the Federal National Mortgage Association succeeding David O. Maxwell who will replace outgoing chairman and chief executive Oakley Hunter in June. David deWilde will become executive vice president for policy and planning on March 15.

Murray joined FNMA in 1970 as vice president and general counsel and became senior vice president and general counsel in 1972. Prior to that, he was a partner in the law firm of Hogan and Hartson.

Murray is chairman of the housing law committee and a member of the executive council of the savings institutions law committee of the Federal Bar Association. He has also served on the advisory committee to the Federal Home Loan Bank Board on alternative mortgage instruments and on advisory committees to the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

deWilde is a managing director of the investment banking firm of Lepercq, de Neuflize & Co. Inc. Prior to that he served as president of Government National Mortgage Association. He also served as special assistant to the general counsel and associate general counsel for the Department of Housing and Urban Development. From 1974 to 1976, deWilde served as deputy commissioner of the Federal Housing Administration and deputy assistant secretary for housing production and mortgage credit at HUD. During most of that time he served simultaneously as acting FHA commissioner and acting assistant secretary.

FNMA also announced the election of three new members to its board of directors: David Maxwell, current president and chief operator officer of FNMA; Richard C. Van Dusen, executive partner of the Detroit law firm of Dickinson, Wright, McKean, Cudlip & Moon; and Mallory Walker, president of Walker & Dunlop Inc., a Washington-based mortgage banking and real estate firm.