Virginia L. Jamison has been appointed director of communications for the Consumer Bankers Association.

Chet Cherry has been elected president of the Northern Virginia Apartment Association.

John A. Hollansworth, vice president and general manager, government systems division, Western Union Telegraph Co., has been elected chairman of the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association.

Patricia Martin has been elected chairman of the American Advertising Federation.

John T. DeBell has been elected president of the Virginia Society of Professional Engineers.

Douglas J. Richardson Jr. has been promoted to general vice president and Marilyn Genader has been promoted to director of meeting services of the Cooperative Food Distributors of America.

Kathleen Phelps has been appointed director of education for the National Apartment Association.

Shiva Sastry has been named research director of the National Pest Control Association.

Jared O. Blum has been named vice president and legal counsel, and Robert J. Levering has been named director of government and consumer affairs, for the Direct Selling Association.

Martin P. Levin, president of the Book Group of the Times Mirror Co., has been elected chairman of the Association of American Publishers.

Steven F. Stockmeyer has been appointed executive vice president of the National Multi Housing Council. He was previously executive director of the National Republican Congressional Committee.

Valeria M. Ogden has been appointed executive director of the Young Womens' Christian Association of the national capital area by the association's board of directors.

Eugene M. Donnelly, coordinator of off-campus instruction at George Mason University, has been elected president of the Purchasing Management Association of D.C.

George G. Mead has been promoted to vice president for government relations for the American Trucking Associations Inc.

J. R. (Jack) O'Connell Jr. has been named president and chief executive officer of Sugar Association Inc.

Bruce E. Oman has been named director of marketing programs, and Howard G. Balogh has been appointed comptroller of the Glass Packaging Institute.

Andrew B. Anderson Jr. has been appointed deputy executive director of the Air Force Association.