Allbritton Communications Co. announced last week the election of four new members of its board of directors. They are Lee Merritt Folger, chairman of the local investment banking firm Folger Nolan Fleming Douglas; Abner V. McCall, chancellor and former president of Baylor University in Waco, Tex.; Thomas B. Cookerly, president and general manager of WJLA-TV, and W. Dean Singleton, president of the newspaper division of Allbritton Communications.

Gale McGee, recent ambassador to the Organization of American States and former U.S. senator for 18 years from Wyoming, has been named a member of the senior advisory board of Hill and Knowlton. He will serve on the committee with Douglas MacArthur II (nephew of the late general), former U.S. ambassador to Japan and Iran; Najeeb Halaby, former director of the Federal Aviation Administration, and Adm. Thomas Moorer, former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

Hill and Knowlton also announced the appointment of Edmond C. Smith as legislative researcher and writer for its governmental affairs division. Smith formerly was a staffer for the House Administration Committee.

Linda K. Liebold has been appointed associate director for national program underwriting at WETA-TV. Leibold was previously an account executive at Earle Palmer Brown, where she was responsible for market development and advertising for clients.

Clark T. Madigan has joined Communications Technology Management in the newly-created position of vice president of finance. Madigan goes to the McLean firm from American Security Bank, where he was vice president, group head and senior credit officer.