Andrew C. Halvorsen has been named senior vice president for finance of the Beneficial Corp. He was previously assistant to the chairman of the corporation.

Laura J. Lawler has been promoted to vice president in the loan administration division of United Virginia Bank.

Charles F. Bates will join the American Bankers Association as director of the Operations, Automation, Insurance and Protection divisions. He was formerly vice president and consultant for bank operations, data processing and earnings improvement with Bank Earnings International, a firm based in Atlanta, Ga.

The National Bank of Washington recently announced that Raphael J. Dias-Balart, Clark B. Nelson, James E. Nissley III, William E. Dodge and D. Smith Patterson have been chosen as vice presidents of the bank.

Virginia National Bank has announed eleven officer promotions for the retail offices of its northern region. Nauman J. Ismail, assistant manager of the Arlington office, will become manager of the Old Keene Mill office. Clifton D. Jones, assistant manager in Springfield, has been promoted to manager of the Skyline office. Jones will be replaced by Debra A. Sakowski, who comes from the Yorktowne office, and Sakowski's duties will be assumed by Wendy M. Moore. Eileen M. St. Louis, assistant manager in Alexandria, has been promoted to manager of the Concourse office. Donald P. McClure, assistant manager in Rosslyn, has been named assistant manager for the bank's Arlington operations. Stephen K. Reade, assistant manager for the Pentagon office, will become assistant manager in Alexandria. Catherine M. Berley was promoted from a staff position to assistant manager of the Fairfax City branch. Robin V. Farah has been appointed assistant manager at the Lee Highway office. Robin P. Poly was promoted from the staff to assistant manager of the Woodbridge office. Sheryl A. Williams was promoted to assistant cashier at the Arlington office.

Virginia National Bank also announced the promotion of Wallace B. Bagwell, assistant vice president and manager of its Yorktowne office, to marketing officer. Bagwell, who is a retired Navy captain, joined the bank in 1977.

William B. Sawers Jr. has been named head of the Baltimore region of John Hanson Savings and Loan Association. He is presently a member of the John Hanson board of directors and executive committee. He has also served on the boards of the Maryland Savings and Loan League and the Maryland Savings Share Insurance Corp.

Kenneth Yeatman has been named assistant vice president of Maryland Federal Savings and Loan. Yeatman joined the association in 1978 as a teller and became manager of the Gaithersburg office in 1978.

Robert T. Parry has been named executive vice president and chief economist of Security Pacific Corp. and its principal subsidiary, Security Pacific National Bank. He has also been elected chairman of the Economic Advisory Committee of the American Bankers Association. Before joining Security Pacific in 1970, Parry spent over four years with the Federal Reserve Board in Washington. During that time, he served as a lecturer on money and banking at Georgetown University.

L. David Taylor has been appointed senior vice president for savings of Perpetual American Federal Savings and Loan Association. He will be responsible for supervision of the association's 21 branch offices and the daily operations of all savings and certificate departments.

Michael E. Curtin has been appointed executive vice president of the Inter-American Development Bank. Prior to accepting his new position, Curtin was the assistant treasurer of Revlon Inc.

Aubrey N. Snellings has been named vice president and secretary of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond.