Cecilia A. Kirby has been elected executive director of the U.S. Congressional Travel and Tourism Caucus. She was formerly research director of the caucus which, with 285 members, is the largest official legislative service organization on Capitol Hill.

Sidney A. Bailey, commissioner of financial institutions for the Virginia State Corporation Commission, has been named president-elect of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors. He is scheduled to become president of the conference in the spring of 1983.

The Fairfax County Local Development Corp., a recently-organized nonprofit corporation which will provide long-term fixed asset financing for small businesses, recently announced results of the election of its first officers and members of the board. William J. Bestimt, manager and co-owner of the residential real estate development firm William Bestimt & Son Inc., was named president; John T. Hazel, an attorney with the firm Hazel, Beckhorn and Hanes, was elected chairman; Peter Stefanou, a member of the accounting firm Frank, Stefanou and Co., will be vice president; Linda J. Wright, senior vice president of Town and Country Bank and Trust Co., is treasurer; James M. Rees of the law firm Rees, Broome and Diaz, is secretary. Other members of the board are Philip M. Reilly, vice president of Joyner Wholesale Co.; William K. Butler II, executive vice president of United Virginia Bank, and James E. Griffin, president of Wild and Wooly Needlecraft Inc.

Prince George's County Council member David G. Hartlove Jr. has been named first vice president of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.

Harrel L. McCarty was recently named the National Ocean Survey Employe of the Year. McCarty is chief of the financial management division for the survey, which is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Ann H. Morgan has been appointed director of public affairs for the Department of Energy. She was formerly president of Ardan Co. Ltd., a real estate management and consulting firm in Florence, S.C. Morgan replaces William E. Greener III, who will become director of communications for the Republican National Committee.

In a related development, Richard D. Furiga has been promoted to deputy assistant secretary for the strategic petroleum reserve at the Department of Energy. He was previously deputy director of the program.

Janet Dempsey Steiger was recently appointed chairman of the Postal Rate Commission. She has held the post on an acting basis for the last year.

Warren G. Leback has been named deputy maritime administrator at the Department of Transportation. He was previously a consultant to the maritime administration.

William J. Barrett has been appointed superintendent of documents at the Government Printing Office. He was formerly the deputy superintendent of documents, a position which will now be filled by Michael F. DiMario, who has been deputy general counsel at the GPO.

Tracy Daniel Connors has been named administrative assistant to Rep. Charles E. Bennett (D-Fla.). Connors was previously vice president and publisher of the Taft Corp., a company which publishes newsletters, reference books and periodicals for nonprofit organization.

Kenneth M. Miller, president and chief executive officer of the Penril Corp., has been named by Maryland Gov. Harry Hughes to the Governor's Committee on High Technology.

M. Kendall Fleeharty has been appointed assistant general counsel for regulations at the Department of Commerce. He was previously director of the Regulatory Action Center of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.