National Permanent Federal Savings announced recently that John W. Stadtler Jr., William B. Swift and Clayton R. Keel have been appointed executive vice presidents.

Stadtler will be responsible for National Permanent's real estate services division and for the association's three subsidiaries of Permanent Financial Corp., Permanent Insurance and Permanent Mortgage Co. Stadtler was most recently president of Permanent Financial Corp.

Swift will serve as executive vice president of all savings operations, marketing, personnel and administration. He was formerly executive vice president and member of the board of Washington and Lee Savings and Loan.

Keel will be chief financial officer of National Permanent, with responsibility for data processing, accounting and investment portfolio management. He was previously senior vice president of the association.

Bette B. Anderson, a senior vice president at the public relations firm Gray and Co., has been elected to the board of directors of the Women's National Bank.

Riggs National Bank announced recently that Landis M. Fielden has been promoted to vice president of its multinational division; Linda M. Hammond and Charles J. Monterio were named vice presidents of the operations division, and Houston E. Gray was appointed vice president and manager of the bank's Park Road office.

Wendie L. Wachtel, vice president and financial principal of Wachtel & Co. Inc., has been elected a member of the district ten committee of the National Association of Securities Dealers Inc.

William D. Wooten has joined National Bank of Washington as vice president and director of human resources. He was most recently divisional vice president and director of personnel administration for the Hecht Co.

Leslie P. Schultz and Robert D. Edison have been appointed to the board of directors of International Bank. Schultz is a senior vice president of the bank and president and chief executive officer of the bank affiliate United Services Life Insurance Co. Edison is senior vice president of the bank's property and casualty insurance group and president of Financial Security Group Inc.

First Virginia Bank has announced that Shirley Beavers Jr. has been promoted to executive vice president of operations; Michael G. Anzilotti has become senior vice president and cashier, and David G. Walker has been named executive vice president of the commercial division.

William G. Pfaff has been elected senior vice president and head of American Security Bank's human resources division. He was formerly vice president of personnel and chief labor relations officer for the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta.

Esther Hay Smith has been named president-elect of Womansbank in Richmond. She was formerly senior vice president of First American Bank in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Kenneth R. Frappier has been appointed senior vice president of State National Bank in Rockville.

Michael S. Donovan has been named a senior vice president of Central Fidelity Bank in Richmond. Donovan was formerly with Riggs National Bank, where he worked for 15 years on trust investment and commercial affairs.

The Investment Company Institute has announced the appointment of Julie Domenick to its legislative staff. Domenick was formerly director of the Washington office of the New York City Municipal Labor Unions.

James L. Harris, chairman and chief executive officer of Washington Federal Savings and Loan Association, has been elected to the board of directors of District Realty Title Insurance Corp.