Four incumbents and two new members have been elected to the board of directors of The Associated Press.

The two new members are James H. Ottaway Jr., chairman of the board of Ottaway Newspapers Inc. and James E. Burgess, executive vice president of Lee Enterprises Inc.

Those re-elected were William S. Morris III, president of Morris Communications Corp.; Robert G. Marbut, president of Harte-Hanks Communications Inc.; Charles S. Rowe, editor and co-publisher of The Free Lance Star, Fredericksburg, Va., and John F. McGee, president of The Charleston (W.Va) Daily Mail.

Thursa C. Thomas has been named director of public affairs for WJLA-TV. In this position, she will be serve as executive producer for all of the station's public affairs and community service programs. Thomas was formerly producer of "Good Morning Washington."

Also at WJLA, account executive Marilyn Hayden has been promoted to manager of special projects.

Thomas B. McGrath has been appointed vice president of Columbia Pictures Pay Cable and Home Entertainment Group. He had been the company's director of special projects.

Robert D. Blachly has become vice president for administration at Parkway Communications Corp., the broadcast service of U.S. News & World Report. He was formerly director of radio and television for the Veterans Administration.