Jay Nussbaum, region manager of the information systems division of Xerox Corp., has been elected president of the Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington. He succeeds George Hoyt, who was publisher of The Washington Star.

The Educational Testing Service has promoted David J. Brodsky to executive vice president; Robert A. Altman, vice president for school and higher education programs; Ernest J. Anastasio, vice president for research management, and Eleanor V. Horne, corporate secretary and executive assistant to the president.

E. Patrick McGuire has been appointed executive director of corporate relations research at the Conference Board.

Rachel B. Tompkins has been named executive director of the Children's Defense Fund. She was formerly director of the Citizen's Council for Ohio Schools.

Darryl V. Poole has been appointed senior vice president of operations for the Opportunity Funding Corp. He was previously director of special audits for the American Can Co.

Sharon L. Camp has been elected vice president of the Population Crisis Committee.

Allen E. Smith was recently appointed president of Defenders of Wildlife.

Wallace B. Dunlap has been elected president of the board of trustees of the Leukemia Society of America Inc. Dunlap is vice president for public affairs for Westinghouse Broadcasting Corp.