Stephen W. Carey was recently appointed executive vice president and chief executive officer of the Greater Washington Society of Association Executives. Carey was most recently director of the management services department of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

J. Owen Cole, chairman of the board of the First National Bank of Maryland, was recently elected chairman of the Washington Baltimore Regional Association. Elected as co-chairman was Vincent C. Burke Jr., chairman of the board of Riggs National Bank; as vice chairman for D.C. and federal affairs, R. Robert Linowes of Linowes & Blocher; as vice chairman for Maryland affairs, J. Michael McWilliams of Tydings & Rosenberg; as vice chairman of Virginia affairs, John T. Hazel Jr. of Hazel, Beckhorn & Hanes; as secretary, Edwin K. Hoffman, chairman of the board of Woodward & Lothrop, and as treasurer, Jerome W. Geckle, president and chief executive officer of the PHH Group Inc.

Michael E. Motley has been elected president of the Northern Virginia Chapter of the National Association of Accountants. Motley is with the congressional relations office of the U.S. controller general.

H. Furlong Baldwin, president of Mercantile Bankshares Corp., has been elected chairman of the Association of Bank Holding Companies.

Bernard S. Browning, president and chief executive officer of General Business Services Inc., has been elected a trustee of the National Small Business Association.

Robert B. Neville has been named executive vice president and chief operating officer of the National Restaurant Association. He has been acting chief staff officer since January.

Joanne F. Alper, a partner in the law firm of Cohen, Gettings and Sher, was recently elected president of the Arlington County Bar Association.

Louis L. Meier Jr. has been named executive director of the American Society of Civil Engineers. He has been Washington counsel for the society. In addition, Donald A. Buzzell was promoted to assistant executive director.

Gerard A. Heidrick Jr., president of Fidelity Federal Savings and Loan Association, has been elected president of the Mid-Atlantic Clearing House Association.

Robert P. Lisensky has been named executive vice president of the Council of Independent Colleges. He was formerly a consultant to the division of higher education of the United Methodist Church.

James D. Hawkins has been appointed executive director of the Opticians Association of America. He was most recently pharmacy coordinator for the Washington, D.C., division of Safeway Stores Inc.

Joan Harper of William Harper & Son Inc. has been elected president of the Washington Executive Association. Sam Gillman of District Realty Title Insurance was elected vice president.

Rich Gilbert has become director of state and local affairs for the American Public Health Association. He was previously legislative counsel for the National League of Cities.

Richard L. Wilson has been promoted to vice president of communications at the Chemical Manufacturers Association.