James L. Kunen will retire at the end of this year as president of the Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation. Kunen became the foundation's first executive in 1961 and served as its executive vice president until 1974, when he was elected president. He will continue as a consultant to the foundation's board of directors.

The foundation was established in 1944 by the late Eugene Meyer, owner and publisher of The Washington Post. It has since then awarded grants amounting to over $22 million to local projects in the arts and health and legal services. The foundation has also assisted in creating the Community Foundation of Greater Washington, the Cultural Alliance, the Greater Washington Research Center, the Urban Service Corps, the Volunteer Clearinghouse and Homemakers and Visiting Nurses Services.

Gilbert M. Grosvenor, Christine Stevens, Otis Chandler and Anne Getty Earhart have been elected to the board of directors of World Wildlife-U.S. Grosvenor is president of the National Geographic Society; Stevens is president of the Animal Welfare Institute, and Chandler is chairman and editor-in-chief of the Times Mirror Co. Earhart is an active conservationist. Since its founding in 1961, World Wildlife Fund-U.S. has contributed over $15.5 million to conservation projects affecting endangered habitats and wildlife around the world.

Martin R. Petersen has been elected chairman of the Council for the Advancement of Consumer Policy. Bryce N. Harlow was elected vice chairman.

Frances M. Cady has been named staff vice president of finance for the Urban Land Institute. In addition, Ralph R. Widner, previously president of the Academy for Contemporary Problems, was named staff vice president of research. Established in 1936, the Urban Land Institute is a research organization involved in urban planning, growth and development.