Julian B. Heron Jr., senior partner with the law firm Heron, Burchette & Ruckert, has been named chairman of the U.S. Agriculture Export Development Council.

Albert I. Schindler has been named acting director of the Naval Research Laboratory. He was previously associate research director for material science and component technology. Schindler succeeds Alan Berman, who resigned to become dean of the University of Miami Rosensteil School of Marine and Atmospheric Science.

Thomas E. Plank has been appointed assistant attorney general and counsel to the Maryland Department of Economic and Community Development. He was previously assistant attorney general and counsel to the state's Department of Budget and Fiscal Planning.

Brian W. Smith has been appointed chief counsel for the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. He was formerly senior vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary for MasterCard International.

Paul S. Eubanks has been named director of the Virginia Division of Industrial Development. He was previously director of the Rhode Island Department of Economic Development. Hugh Keogh, who has been acting director of the division, has been appointed deputy director.

Joseph J. O'Hara has been appointed executive director of the D.C. Interagency Council on Family Planning.

Houston A. Baker, an assistant professor at the Howard University School of Health Services Administration, has been appointed to the D.C. General Hospital Commission.

The Prince George's County Council has named to the Greater Laurel-Beltsville Hospital board of directors S.G. Fred Frederick, Jerilyn Keller, Dr. M. Hussain Ali Baig, Dr. Mohammad Chaudhry, Charles B. Lavin Jr., Shirley Wetherald and Janet M. Lauer.

Lawrence Anderson has been named director of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's Office of Electric Power Regulation.