Haswell M. Franklin, a partner in the firm Franklin/Morris Associates, has been installed as president of the Maryland State Association of Life Underwriters.

Elizabeth S. Morrison, manager of financial services for Herget and Co. Inc., has been appointed to the board of directors of the Baltimore Life Underwriters Association Inc.

Gary E. Folley has been named vice president of the risk management division of Herget and Co. Inc.

John F. Gentleman has been named executive vice president of the Martin E. Segal Co. He was formerly senior vice president for the company's mid-Atlantic region.

Michael W. O'Neill has been appointed assistant director of the management information services branch of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. He was formerly director of office information systems at the Department of Energy.

William U. MacBrayne has been named president of Loss Control Management Corp. Peter G. Baldwin has been named vice president of the firm and Lou Vall-Lloveras has been appointed claims manager.

Allan J. Brecher and Theodore M. Pappas have been elected vice presidents of the McLaughlin Co.

Joyce A. Reid was recently elected vice president of Victor O. Schinnerer & Co. Inc. She was formerly assistant treasurer and manager of the company's administrative division. In a related development, James F. Willging was also elected vice president of the firm. He previously managed the health care providers division.

Hugh W. Turner has been appointed vice president of the James Virginia Corp. He has been manager of the direct sales department in the company's Arlington office.

Richard H. Winkelman was recently elected president and treasurer of the Fireman's Insurance Co. of Washington, D.C. He has been a director of the company since 1959. He is also executive vice president and treasurer of Howard & Hoffman Inc. and vice president and treasurer of Home Casualty & Surety Co.

Allen A. Skogebo was recently elected 1982-83 president of the D.C. Life Underwriters Association.