Kathryn A. George has been appointed divisional vice president for customer relations for Woodward & Lothrop. She was previously assistant vice president of stores, with responsibility for systems and program development.

William W. Smith has been elected president of Gaithersburg Lumber & Supply Co., replacing William E. Norman, who becomes chairman of the board. Smith was formerly vice president of the company. In addition, Richard L. Alexander, Charles F. Davis and John H. Eaton Jr. were elected vice presidents and members of the board.

John M. Ourisman has been named president and general manager of Ourisman Chevrolet, replacing Mandell J. Ourisman, who becomes chairman of the board.

Reed Smith, formerly executive vice president of Chas. G. Stott & Co., has been elected president of the office equipment and supply company. He succeeds L.J. Milliken, who has become chairman of the board and treasurer.

Smith is one of seven officers who purchased the company from the Stott family in 1976. He joined the company's government sales division in 1956, became manager of the division in 1958 and was elected executive vice president in 1975.

In addition, Carolyn K. Shelton was elected vice president and secretary of Stott & Co. C. Garrett Leety, formerly manager of the paper division, and James D. McLaughlin, manager of the furniture division, were named assistant vice presidents.