John J. Byrne, president of Geico Corp., and Stephen Hartwell, president of Washington Mutual Investors Fund, have been elected directors of the fund. In addition, Bernard J. Nees has been elected chairman of the board, succeeding Harvey B. Gram Jr., who has been elected chairman emeritus and will continue as a director. Nees has been vice chairman since January 1981.

L. Glenn Perry has been named chief accountant of the Securities and Exchange Commission enforcement division. He has been a partner in the accounting firm of Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co.

Carl S. Silverberg and Brent L. Lloyd have been appointed vice presidents of Winthrop Securities Co. Inc. Silverberg has been a principal of the Financial Resource Group. Lloyd was vice president of Angeles Realty Corp.

Diane Schaefer and Ira Pearce have been named vice presidents of Ferris & Co.

John Bakanowsky has joined First Women's Bank of Maryland as comptroller. He was previously vice president of Security National. Debbie MacGregor has become head of the bank's new automatic teller operations.

Steven H. Jaeger has joined First American Bank of Maryland as senior vice president in charge of the Baltimore corporate banking division. He was most recently vice president of metropolitan accounts with Equitable Trust Co. Francis W. Neubauer Jr. has become senior vice president in charge of Howard County corporate banking. He was previously with Columbia Bank and Trust Co. for over 11 years.

Central National Bank of Maryland has promoted Peter A. Converse to vice president of its commercial division and John J. Marcario to vice president of its installment division.

The Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corp. has appointed Kent W. Colton executive vice president of policy, planning and economic research; Lee B. Holmes, senior vice president of public affairs; Leland C. Brendsel, executive vice president and chief financial officer; Maud Mater, vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary, and Richard E. Battle, vice president of human resources.

Jerome C. Price has been named vice president of the bank investment division of Maryland National Corp.'s financial group. He will be succeeded as comptroller by M. Scott Kaufman, who has been vice president of corporate finance. David L. Spilman has become vice president and treasurer of the corporation.

David D. Martin has been elected executive vice president of Provident Savings Bank. Glenwood G. Lowman Jr. has been promoted to senior vice president and William A. Schultheis Jr., comptroller.

Michael A. Sullivan has been appointed vice president and senior loan officer for the National Bank of Commerce. He was most recently a vice president at Bank of Virginia.

Gregory G. Bolac and Andrew B. Mills have been appointed vice presidents of Government Services Savings and Loan. Bolac has been vice president for savings administration with Standard Federal Savings and Loan. Mills has been with Government Services since 1972.

Kenneth W. Lee has been named associate director of the American Bankers Association agricultural bankers division. He was previously a corporate loan officer with the Central Bank of the South in Huntsville, Ala. James Curran has been named director of community banking programs in the association's banking organizations group.

Mary B. Irvin, a vice president for First Virginia Banks Inc., has been installed as chairman of the Northern Virginia chapter of the National Association of Bank Women Inc.

Stephen E. Marohl, Sara M. Ostrusky and Richard A. Seborowski have been promoted to vice presidents of First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Annapolis.

Clifford G. Needham Jr., formerly an officer at Riggs National Bank, has become vice president and commercial loan officer of Bank of Virginia. In addition, J. Robert Collett, previously an assistant vice president of National Bank of Washington, was named manager of the Bank of Virginia Falls Church branch.