Morris C. Hoven Jr. has been named president of the Alexandria Building Industry Association. He is president of the Hoven Corp.

P. Adger Williams has been named president of the American Academy of Actuaries. He is vice president of the Travelers Insurance Co. in Hartford, Conn.

Catherine G. Abbott has been named head of the department of policy analysis with the Interstate Natural Gas Association.

Andre W. Brewster has been elected chairman of the Maryland Hospital Association's public information committee. He is a senior partner in the Baltimore law firm of Piper and Marbury and chairman of the board of Johns Hopkins Hospital.

J.B. Cordaro has been appointed executive director of the Council for Responsible Nutrition.

Barbara B. Gregg received a distinguished service award from the Washington chapter of the Society of Consumer Affairs Professionals in Business. Gregg is executive director of the Montgomery County Office of Consumer Affairs.

Susan T. Wolk has been appointed conference and exposition director of the National Micrographics Association.

Charles F. Eason has been appointed energy resources law committee chairman in the American Bar Association's tort and insurance section. William L. Kovacs was named chairman-elect of the committee.

Michael C. Brooks has been elected vice president of the Construction Management Association of America.

Kim L. Coleman has been promoted to the position of commercial, industrial and institutional specialist with the National Association of Home Builders.